time to get an external HD

Discussion in 'OT Technology' started by REDandBLACKpack, Sep 6, 2008.

  1. REDandBLACKpack

    REDandBLACKpack Active Member

    Joined:
    Nov 29, 2007
    Messages:
    30,995
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    ATL
    edit: after doing some research it seems that the WD mybook series seem to be the most popular here. I will probably go with either a 500 or 750 GB one. Do I need to get the version that has the firewire connection? how much faster would it be for transfering? are there any other pros/cons? Also, this is will be my first extarnal HD so will I have any issues with keeping my music/movies on there and keeping the HD connected so that I can still play music through itunes and such on a regular basis? Is this simply a plug and play type deal?

    sorry for all of the questions.
     
    Last edited: Sep 6, 2008
  2. TheWeasel

    TheWeasel Guest

    No need for FireWire. USB is usually cheaper these days and works at about the same speed. Stay away from anything LaCie or Maxtor and you'll be fine for the most part.
     
  3. quid

    quid I Piss Excellence OT Supporter

    Joined:
    Aug 28, 2004
    Messages:
    50,352
    Likes Received:
    3
    Location:
    california
    seagate :bowdown:
     
  4. inkblot78

    inkblot78 New Member

    Joined:
    Aug 12, 2005
    Messages:
    239
    Likes Received:
    0
    Costco has a 1tb Seagate for $199 and a 1tb WD for $189
     
  5. Pseudonym

    Pseudonym --

    Joined:
    Mar 14, 2006
    Messages:
    2,406
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Canada
    one good thing about the firewire is you can boot from that drive.
     
  6. REDandBLACKpack

    REDandBLACKpack Active Member

    Joined:
    Nov 29, 2007
    Messages:
    30,995
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    ATL
    im not the most computer literate (well compared to a lot of you guys, i am compared to my friends :mamoru:) but what advantages would that give me.


    i may need to find someone with a costco membership :eek3:
     
  7. Pseudonym

    Pseudonym --

    Joined:
    Mar 14, 2006
    Messages:
    2,406
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Canada
    you can clone your internal hard drive onto the external. if your internal drive gets fucked, you can boot up from the external and have an exact replica of your computer.
     
  8. REDandBLACKpack

    REDandBLACKpack Active Member

    Joined:
    Nov 29, 2007
    Messages:
    30,995
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    ATL
    sounds good. is that easy to do?

    also will i notice a difference in speeds using an external? like if i click on a song in itunes to play it will there be a lag? sorry for all the retarded questions
     
  9. Pseudonym

    Pseudonym --

    Joined:
    Mar 14, 2006
    Messages:
    2,406
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Canada
    no, you shouldn't see any difference.
     
  10. TheWeasel

    TheWeasel Guest

    Intel Macs can boot from USB.
     
  11. Pseudonym

    Pseudonym --

    Joined:
    Mar 14, 2006
    Messages:
    2,406
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Canada
    hmm, okay.
     
  12. mad_vtak

    mad_vtak Active Member

    Joined:
    Apr 29, 2007
    Messages:
    30,760
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Memfrica
    no WD no care

    1 TB
    320GB
    160GB
     
  13. REDandBLACKpack

    REDandBLACKpack Active Member

    Joined:
    Nov 29, 2007
    Messages:
    30,995
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    ATL
    really? cool

    im leaning towards the WD. I just have to decide on the model and size. 500 seems like it would be enough since my computers HD is only 150 but then again I dont want to run out of space later.

    I also want to upgrade my ram later as well.
     
    Last edited: Sep 7, 2008
  14. Herbavor

    Herbavor New Member

    Joined:
    Jun 29, 2006
    Messages:
    13,234
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Phillyish
    Im looking for a TB one, my macbooks drive isnt too big, and ill be putting video on the external, along with movies and music and such, i wont need to worry bout space
     
  15. Sypha923

    Sypha923 OT Supporter

    Joined:
    Aug 9, 2004
    Messages:
    4,223
    Likes Received:
    2
    Location:
    El Paso TX
    I have a My Book Pro 500GB that seems to have crapped out on me but is still under warranty. Does anyone know if they will save the data for me if they can or will they go through it I have items that are private and work related?
     
  16. TheWeasel

    TheWeasel Guest

    They will not recover the data for you. They just give you a refurbished drive and send you on your way. Not sure if they go through your stuff afterwards. I know I would just for fun.
     
  17. mojito

    mojito New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 8, 2003
    Messages:
    62,877
    Likes Received:
    0
    :o

    [​IMG]

    1tb ethernet
    1tb fw 400/esata
    1tb fw 800
    500 usb2

    all work great, though even with gigabit router and cables, its still slow as shit on the world edition.
     
  18. Pseudonym

    Pseudonym --

    Joined:
    Mar 14, 2006
    Messages:
    2,406
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Canada
    how necessary is that?
     
  19. Bolicious

    Bolicious Handleobraese

    Joined:
    Aug 5, 2000
    Messages:
    43,793
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Ellicott City, MD
    I have a few my book pros and they seem pretty good most of the time. I definitely recommend going with the faster connection. However, I have a couple things that irritate me. I have a MacBook Pro that I take home every night and there are times when I hook up the hard drives and one just doesn't show up. I make sure to eject the drives everytime, but I still have an issue. It's a couple 500GB drives that I purchased when they first came out. I keep one at home and one at work. The one at work is fine 19 times out of 20, but the one at home is much worse. It shows up on my computer rarely. I only use that one as storage and not back up so it's not as important as the ones at work... but it's stupid. I bought a 750 a year later for time machine and never have the issue with that one. I also hear a hard drive running at work over and over; even when not in use. It gets so annoying. I don't know which is doing it since I keep my drives side by side. I'm willing to bet it's not the 750.

    So I don't know if it's the 750 model or just the fact that it's a newer model, but it seems to be error free. Just a heads up.
     
  20. REDandBLACKpack

    REDandBLACKpack Active Member

    Joined:
    Nov 29, 2007
    Messages:
    30,995
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    ATL
    I was going to get the mybook 500 GB since it is on sale at staples http://www.staples.com/office/suppl...-Drives_193957_Business_Supplies_10051_SEARCH

    but now im getting a little :noes:

    I do not want to lose the data I put on there (all of my music).

    How often do these mess up? Is there anyway to get the data off of them?

    Also, I want to have mine on most of the time since I play music a lot, will this cause a problem?

    Are the office edition mybooks better than the one I linked?

    How much of a difference will I notice with the faster ones?
     
  21. mojito

    mojito New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 8, 2003
    Messages:
    62,877
    Likes Received:
    0
    they aren't empty if thats what you're asking.

    Every wedding I shoot is more than 20gb in photos, add a few more for edits and a album design. And of course you have to have a backup of everything.

    world edition one is for media so I can move the laptop around and still be connected wirelessly.
     
  22. mojito

    mojito New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 8, 2003
    Messages:
    62,877
    Likes Received:
    0
    as often as any other HD. depends on what happens to it
    nope
    not better, just more connections
    depends on what its for. as a backup, not much. if you're using is as a working drive, then alot.

    always have a backup of anything you don't want to lose.
     
  23. wabash9000

    wabash9000 Active Member

    Joined:
    Dec 27, 2006
    Messages:
    14,392
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Overland Park, KS
    I have the 500gb with the usb firewire and esata but I have only used the usb.
     
  24. REDandBLACKpack

    REDandBLACKpack Active Member

    Joined:
    Nov 29, 2007
    Messages:
    30,995
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    ATL
    so if i want to store my music and movies on this and then use itunes or vcl to listen/watch i should get the faster drive (the one with firewire).

    also, are you saying that i should have 2 externals? 1 to use regularly and 1 to keep a copy of everything that is important to me (music)?


    also which series should I be looking for? essential, studio, office, home, etc (WD Mybook)
     
    Last edited: Sep 8, 2008
  25. DouggieJ

    DouggieJ OT Supporter

    Joined:
    Nov 1, 2007
    Messages:
    8,126
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    New York, NY USA
    I'll second the no LaCie recommendation. I've had problems with everything I've bought from them. I will say they have great customer service and replaced all the products I had problems with, but it's still a problem when a device fails all the time.
     

Share This Page