Time for an upgrade.....

Discussion in 'OT Technology' started by BajaDak, Jun 20, 2006.

  1. BajaDak

    BajaDak If you have poo......fling it now

    Joined:
    Nov 14, 2003
    Messages:
    615
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    <shrug>
    My current system...

    Intel D845PESV mother board
    2.4ghz P4 478 pinset
    1GB ddr ram (2 512 sticks)
    160gb primary HD
    80gb secondary HD
    2001(ish) Sound Blaster Sound card
    Nvidia Geforce6600 256mb
    DVD drive
    CD-RW drive

    all in a Antec PLUSveiw100AMG case

    [​IMG]

    I'd like to just upgrade the motherboard and processer. It seems like the trend today in to go dual core. Any suggestions? My main deal is games, seems Hitman blood money and some of the newer games are requiring 4ghz+. Do you just add the 2 processers together to get your new processing power? Thanks guys.
     
  2. P07r0457

    P07r0457 New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 20, 2004
    Messages:
    28,491
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Southern Oregon
    what's your budget? So you just want new cpu and mobo? That mobo does not support dual channel memory. I highly recommend getting one that does. What speed is the memory? 266/333/400? If it's 400MHz you can keep it and go AMD on the CPU. If it's 333 or slower, it needs to be replaced. If you want to stick with Intel, you'll need to switch to DDR2-533/667.

    Dual Core is an option, but expensive. Personally, I'd recommend you wait for Conroe (Intel) if you want to go that route. They're gonna slaughter AMD chips for the foreseeable future, and appear to be less expensive, too! This would require a memory upgrade, however.

    But it's hard to make recommendations without knowing what we've got in terms of memory and budget.
     
  3. BajaDak

    BajaDak If you have poo......fling it now

    Joined:
    Nov 14, 2003
    Messages:
    615
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    <shrug>
    sry, memory speed is 333.
    i wouldn't have a problem on spending in the 300 dollar range. from what i saw, i could get a stronger P4 for 100-200 bucks, but it seems that that would be a band-aid. I put together my current setup back in late 02, and its been doing pretty good, so I'd like this one to last as long as this one. If i have to spend a few extra bucks to get me a system that'll last me longer, so be it.
     
  4. P07r0457

    P07r0457 New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 20, 2004
    Messages:
    28,491
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Southern Oregon
    Unfortunatly, that i845 mobo is going to be a huge bottleneck, so any upgrade worth doing will require it's replacement. However, if you want a different CPU, then you need new memory, as well.

    Figure $90 for a good mobo, and $80 for memory. So that's $170, right there.

    I think for around $320 you could get this done, and have a good system:

    AMD Athlon64 3400+ Retail
    Corsair 1GB Dual Channel Kit (2x512MB)
    Asus A8N-E Motherboard
     
  5. deusexaethera

    deusexaethera OT Supporter

    Joined:
    Jan 27, 2005
    Messages:
    19,712
    Likes Received:
    0
    If he's got good memory right now, he might be able to OC it to 400MHz. It's worth giving it a shot before buying new RAM, if he's gonna replace the motherboard anyway.
     
  6. BajaDak

    BajaDak If you have poo......fling it now

    Joined:
    Nov 14, 2003
    Messages:
    615
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    <shrug>
    So this would be a good setup? Even though its a Radeon MB, is my Nvidia card stil compatible?




    G.SKILL Value Series 2GB (2 x 1GB) 184-Pin DDR SDRAM DDR 400 (PC 3200) Unbuffered Dual Channel Kit System Memory Model F1-3200PHU2-2GBZX - Retail
    Model #: F1-3200PHU2-2GBZX
    Item #: N82E16820231032

    AMD Athlon 64 X2 3800+ Manchester 2000MHz HT Socket 939 Dual Core Processor Model ADA3800BVBOX - Retail
    Model #: ADA3800BVBOX
    Item #: N82E16819103562

    ASUS A8R32-MVP Deluxe Socket 939 ATI CrossFire Radeon XPRESS 3200 ATX AMD Motherboard - Retail
    Model #: A8R32-MVP Deluxe
    Item #: N82E16813131004

    Total price is a cunthair over 600 tho...
     
  7. deusexaethera

    deusexaethera OT Supporter

    Joined:
    Jan 27, 2005
    Messages:
    19,712
    Likes Received:
    0
    To answer your last question:

    No, you don't add the two core speeds together. A single execution core can only run one thread of instructions at a time, and a single thread of instructions can only use one execution core at a time. The consequence of this is that you can run twice as many programs at once before your computer bogs down, but they will each only run as fast as a single core allows.

    The exceptions are programs that can generate more than a single thread of instructions at a time, thus being able to use more than one core to do more than one thing at the same exact time, but games aren't really there yet so I wouldn't bother worrying about it.

    MHz = horsepower
    Cores = torque

    A Lamborghini can go 300km/h, but a Hummer can climb a mountain in top gear. So the question is, are you going to be more impressed if Windows loads five seconds faster, or if you can have 60 processes all cranking away at once and your computer still responds to your commands? Given all the dozens of programs running on a single computer nowadays, it's becoming more important to avoid bogging down than it is to run screaming fast.
     
  8. P07r0457

    P07r0457 New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 20, 2004
    Messages:
    28,491
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Southern Oregon
    yea, that explination is crap. I think i've said this before : Please stop posting.
     

Share This Page