Tiger not loading correctly after locking up

Discussion in 'OT Technology' started by Kinsbane, Jul 8, 2005.

  1. Kinsbane

    Kinsbane Life is a dream from which we all must wake. OT Supporter

    Joined:
    May 22, 2002
    Messages:
    27,935
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    SoCal
    I've got a G4 here at work and last week I loaded Tiger onto it.

    Earlier this week, it locked up and I could hear through my headphones a short static noise that repeats over and over. So I hit the restart button. When OSX came back after logging in, it would stall when trying to load the menu bar. It got as far as the spotlight icon, but nothing else. I could hear the hard drive working for a bit, then nothing.

    So I moved the mouse over the Spotlight icon and I get that rainbowy circle that spins. Tried shutting down & restarting all with the same effect. So I re-loaded Tiger and just now it did it again.

    I use Synergy with iTunes and I dunno if that's the cause, or even a ballpark of what the cause is. Any ideas? This is super frustrating. :(
     
  2. inamorata

    inamorata New Member

    Joined:
    May 13, 2004
    Messages:
    23,762
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    California
    wtf is synergy????
     
  3. samm

    samm Next in Line

    Joined:
    Dec 22, 2000
    Messages:
    2,630
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    San Jose, CA
    Run the hardware test CD that came with the G4 to make sure everything is ok, then report back. I have a few other ides.
     
  4. Kinsbane

    Kinsbane Life is a dream from which we all must wake. OT Supporter

    Joined:
    May 22, 2002
    Messages:
    27,935
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    SoCal
    Can I boot from that CD? After loggin into OS X, it just stays there and I can't do anything :hs:
     
  5. Kinsbane

    Kinsbane Life is a dream from which we all must wake. OT Supporter

    Joined:
    May 22, 2002
    Messages:
    27,935
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    SoCal
    iTunes controller
     
  6. IcyHot4Life

    IcyHot4Life Str8 Ballin'

    Joined:
    Aug 2, 2002
    Messages:
    18,151
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Inquire Within
    you can only boot the hardware diagnostic program that comes with the CD, as opposed to mounting a working OS, as far as I know. But I haven't touched a hardware CD in awhile so YMMV.
     
  7. Kinsbane

    Kinsbane Life is a dream from which we all must wake. OT Supporter

    Joined:
    May 22, 2002
    Messages:
    27,935
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    SoCal
    So i got to the office and I booted from the OS X Tiger install CD. I read the first page that says, "If you cannot start your computer, load the OS X Install CD and hold C while the computer starts. Choose Open Disk Utility from the Utilities menu, then click First Aid to repair your disk.

    The fucking problem is, I can't find a fucking "Open Disk Utility" or a "Utilities menu" anywhere. :rant2:
     
  8. Kinsbane

    Kinsbane Life is a dream from which we all must wake. OT Supporter

    Joined:
    May 22, 2002
    Messages:
    27,935
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    SoCal
    stupid-ass me. i didnt see that Installer had a menu bar :uh:
     
  9. Kinsbane

    Kinsbane Life is a dream from which we all must wake. OT Supporter

    Joined:
    May 22, 2002
    Messages:
    27,935
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    SoCal
    well so far, not a fucking thing has worked. I can't even use Terminal to delete a possibly bad Spotlight .plist file, so now i'm just fucking reinstalling.
     
  10. Kinsbane

    Kinsbane Life is a dream from which we all must wake. OT Supporter

    Joined:
    May 22, 2002
    Messages:
    27,935
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    SoCal
    hah this is funny. I wanna backup my previously saved stuff from my previous OS X install, but Spotlight can't find it.. fucking shit. :rofl:
     

Share This Page