MIL Thoughts?

Discussion in 'On Topic' started by teabagn, Sep 1, 2009.

1. teabagn

teabagn New Member

I'm DEPd into the Navy as an E2, but am just over half way done with my associates. Lately I've kind of been thinking of leaving the DEP, completing my bachelors, and going in as an officer. What are your guys' thoughts and opinions on this? So far my degree is geared towards Criminal Justice, and my GPA thus far is 3.0 (B average).

:)

2. NisAznMonk

NisAznMonk New Member

It's alot harder to do it as an enlisted. Finish school.

3. jmx2323

jmx2323 OT Supporter

cj is not a highly touted degree for the AF especially with only a 3.0

4. teabagn

teabagn New Member

Well I've taken Psychology classes too and had thought about majoring in that and leaving my minor be at Criminal Justice. And a B average doesn't look good enough?

Meh I'm kind of at a stall.

5. Julius

Julius Guest

you're only past your first year. i say finish the remaining three and improve your GPA. enlisted is not worth it in the long run.

6. kazimer

kazimer New Member

go ROTC once you transfer to a 4 year university , i would say change to a technical degree but in the end you will excel at what you enjoy.

edit: have you looked into the Army? what do you want to do in the Navy? Since you are majoring in Liberal Arts, I would recommend that you pick up a foreign language. Do something to make you stand out as an Officer.

If you study a critical need language as a cadet in Army ROTC, you get an extra bit of money in your stipend...something to think about

7. teabagn

teabagn New Member

I've thought about being an Army officer, I'm just not exactly sure how it all works. If I did that I'd love to get in somewhere on Intel or somewhere along those lines... TBH I'd love to be an interrogator, but I'm not sure where that all fits. Maybe a profiler or somewhere along those lines, but I'm not sure if that'd be something I'd have to wait for unitl after the military.

8. origin unknown