thoughts on performance/speed upgrades for this sytem?

Discussion in 'OT Technology' started by TigreTek, Oct 20, 2006.

  1. TigreTek

    TigreTek omega member OT Supporter

    Joined:
    Oct 8, 2001
    Messages:
    26,927
    Likes Received:
    3
    Below is a dump from cpuz from my father's home machine.

    right now, the video card reports as an nvidia quadro fx500/fx600
    what's a decent video card for this thing (let's keep it around $300-$350)

    cpuid also reported the ram as being ECC, am i mistaken in the thought that switching to non ecc would be faster? (it's also pc2300, is it worth it to bump it up to something faster)




    CPU-Z 1.37 report file

    Processor(s)

    Number of processors 2
    Number of cores 1 per processor
    Number of threads 2 (max 2) per processor
    Name Intel Xeon
    Code Name Prestonia
    Specification Intel(R) Xeon(TM) CPU 3.20GHz
    Package Socket 604 mPGA
    Family/Model/Stepping F.2.5
    Extended Family/Model F.2
    Brand ID 11
    Core Stepping M0
    Technology 0.13 um
    Core Speed 3195.2 MHz
    Multiplier x Bus speed 24.0 x 133.1 MHz
    Rated Bus speed 532.5 MHz
    Stock frequency 3200 MHz
    Instruction sets MMX, SSE, SSE2
    L1 Data cache 8 KBytes, 4-way set associative, 64-byte line size
    Trace cache 12 Kuops, 8-way set associative
    L2 cache 512 KBytes, 8-way set associative, 64-byte line size
    L3 cache 2048 KBytes, 8-way set associative, 64-byte line size

    Chipset & Memory

    Northbridge Intel E7505 rev. B0
    Southbridge Intel 82801DB (ICH4) rev. 01
    Graphic Interface AGP
    AGP Revision 3.0
    AGP Transfer Rate 8x
    AGP Side Band Addressing supported, enabled
    Memory Type DDR
    Memory Size 2048 MBytes

    System

    System Manufacturer Dell Computer Corporation
    System Name Precision WorkStation 650
    System S/N *i don't think you need my service tag*
    Mainboard Vendor Dell Computer Corp.
    Mainboard Model 0F1262
    BIOS Vendor Dell Computer Corporation
    BIOS Version A03
    BIOS Date 07/21/2003

    Memory SPD

    Module 1 DDR, PC2300 (142 MHz), 1024 MBytes, Samsung
    Module 2 DDR, PC2300 (142 MHz), 1024 MBytes, Samsung
     
  2. DAN513

    DAN513 OT Supporter

    Joined:
    Mar 10, 2003
    Messages:
    10,089
    Likes Received:
    2
    Location:
    204
    It's a dual xeon 3.2 with 2gb of ram. What is slow about it? Are you trying to game with it?
     
  3. piratepenguin

    piratepenguin New Member

    Joined:
    Jun 18, 2006
    Messages:
    1,067
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Ireland
    Does your father work for Lucas Arts?
     
  4. Doc Brown

    Doc Brown Don't make me make you my hobby

    Joined:
    Mar 31, 2006
    Messages:
    16,404
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Ohio
    That sounds like a video editing machine. I'm guessing you got that at a good deal or something?

    First of all, the ecc memory means that you have a server board.
    It quite likely won't accept regular memory, but even if it does (not likely)
    you won't hardly see a difference within the same speed range.

    I just sold a dual Opteron server setup that benchmarked as fast as anything in its processor class. And it used ecc memory.

    Also, I remember reading about the quadro video cards, and they are
    very powerful 3d cards. If you are serious about doing some gaming on it,
    just change the video card.

    And save the old card in case you decide to sell the computer at a later date.
    You'll get more money for it with the original 3d card.




    .
     
    Last edited: Oct 20, 2006
  5. Doc Brown

    Doc Brown Don't make me make you my hobby

    Joined:
    Mar 31, 2006
    Messages:
    16,404
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Ohio
    Oh, and does that have scsi drives in it?

    If so, you might want to just try to sell the build on ebay.

    With the money you get for it plus the 400-500 you are ready
    to pay for memory and video card, you could probably build
    a stater core 2 duo setup.
     
  6. Doc Brown

    Doc Brown Don't make me make you my hobby

    Joined:
    Mar 31, 2006
    Messages:
    16,404
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Ohio
    Oh sorry, and to answer you question more directly...

    I would leave the memory alone and just get the fastest agp
    card you can get for your budget.
    I bet it would perform surprisingly well with some of the agp cards you can still get.
     
  7. TigreTek

    TigreTek omega member OT Supporter

    Joined:
    Oct 8, 2001
    Messages:
    26,927
    Likes Received:
    3
    it's not slow by any means, but the gaming performance is weak and i do use it for that.

    so i'm pretty much just looking for a vid card upgrade for it.
     
  8. TigreTek

    TigreTek omega member OT Supporter

    Joined:
    Oct 8, 2001
    Messages:
    26,927
    Likes Received:
    3
    no, he works for himself and doesn't do anything with the machine other than basic office productivity stuff. he just wanted something FAST that he wouldn't have to get rid of for a long time.
     
  9. TigreTek

    TigreTek omega member OT Supporter

    Joined:
    Oct 8, 2001
    Messages:
    26,927
    Likes Received:
    3
    2 10k rpm SATAs in a striped configuration.

    it's not a video editing machine, he just got bored at dell's website. :hs:
     
  10. DAN513

    DAN513 OT Supporter

    Joined:
    Mar 10, 2003
    Messages:
    10,089
    Likes Received:
    2
    Location:
    204
  11. CodeX

    CodeX Guest

    He wasted his money. That thing should be running a server or doing some 3D modelling or video editing. Like others others have already said just buy a normal video card to game with, basically the more expensive the better, but dont get rid of the quadro they are very expensive cards designed for digital content creation.

    *edit* if it does have a Quadro FX 5xx or 6xx then it has a PCI-E bus too, as all of those models are PCI-E...
     

Share This Page