Thoughts on my brothers build for arch school

Discussion in 'Gamers' Pulse' started by 98dirtybird, May 21, 2009.

  1. 98dirtybird

    98dirtybird OT Supporter

    Joined:
    Oct 25, 2005
    Messages:
    8,567
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Columbus, OH Son! R.I.P Kenny
    He needs something very quick for renderings and cad/design programs.

    - Quad-Core Intel® Core™ i7 940 2.93GHz 4.8GT/s QPI 8MB L3 Cache (VT)
    - MSI X58 Platinum SLI - ATX - Intel® X58 Chipset
    - 6 x Crucial 2GB PC3-10600 1333MHz DDR3
    - In Win F430 - ATX Mid Tower - No Power Supply - Black
    - Antec EarthWatts EA 650 - 650W Power Supply
    - 750GB SATA 7200RPM - 3.5" - Seagate Barracuda® 7200.11
    - Samsung 22x DVD+/-RW Dual Layer LightScribe (SATA)
    - MSI NVIDIA GeForce N250GTS 1GB GDDR3 PCI Express 2.0 (2xDVI)
    - SATA Power Connector - 6" - 4-pin to 15-pin
    - Microsoft Windows Vista Home Premium with SP1 (64-bit)

    What do you think?
     
  2. HipHopHead

    HipHopHead Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jul 18, 2001
    Messages:
    63,391
    Likes Received:
    34
    Location:
    Minnesota
    might run solitaire
     
  3. 98dirtybird

    98dirtybird OT Supporter

    Joined:
    Oct 25, 2005
    Messages:
    8,567
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Columbus, OH Son! R.I.P Kenny
    :x:
     
  4. juvental604

    juvental604 I like to pee upside down OT Supporter

    Joined:
    Aug 15, 2006
    Messages:
    7,188
    Likes Received:
    3
    solid state drive?
     
  5. Los

    Los Active Member

    Joined:
    Oct 22, 2003
    Messages:
    71,488
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Indiana
    SSDs are the wave of the future.
     
  6. Dogz

    Dogz interior crocodile moderator

    Joined:
    Feb 15, 2005
    Messages:
    121,302
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Selling England by the pound
    Honestly by the time he grauates and actually needs use of a high spec pc for rendering there will be something much better for the same money.
     
  7. CarbonSeven

    CarbonSeven Active Member

    Joined:
    Feb 16, 2002
    Messages:
    3,512
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    San Antonio, TX
    ditch the samsung drive go with a lite on or pioneer
     
  8. cp5184

    cp5184 New Member

    Joined:
    May 9, 2009
    Messages:
    277
    Likes Received:
    0
    from k8 to bulldozer people were expecting tons of improvements...

    almost everybody was disappointed. playing quake 3 at 800x600 you still only got 300FPS, not the 400FPS you get on an i7, but with crysis at 1920x1080 with everything up, the difference between phenom and i7 is ALMOST 10FPS!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

    anyway... the special sauce in core 2 duo is an extra integer instruction unit.

    what AMD did between k8 and phenom was add a floating point unit.

    what do you think your brother's arch and cad programs use more?

    that was a leading question.

    the answer is fpu.
     
  9. CombatWombat

    CombatWombat oh shit, zombies bro

    Joined:
    Mar 16, 2007
    Messages:
    1,751
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    UK
    :rofl: I have no idea what you are talking about.
     
  10. cp5184

    cp5184 New Member

    Joined:
    May 9, 2009
    Messages:
    277
    Likes Received:
    0
    games -------------> more integer units == good
    cad/arch ----------> more floating point units == good

    intel yonah core had 3 integer units iirc
    core 2 duo was a 64 bit version of yonah with 1 extra integer unit.

    k8 had 2 floating point units iirc
    phenom is k8 with 3 floating point units

    that said, both have gone from having single precision SIMD iirc to double precision SIMD, and lots more programs are optimized for intel, plus intel chips have better SSE performance iirc.

    that said raw floating point wise AMD probably beats intel in total performance, and most certainly amd's a better value

    I suppose triple channel ram will give i7 an advantage though.
     

Share This Page