Those of you that lift and do MMA (2000GT, etc.)

Discussion in 'Fitness & Nutrition' started by TotalEclipse02, Feb 6, 2005.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. TotalEclipse02

TotalEclipse02 OT Supporter

I was thinking of starting up some MMA training, but I also lift 4 days a week with a high intensity, I was wondering if joint pain was a problem, and if you had to cut back on lifting?

Also how many days a week do you do MMA and how many days do you lift?

I was thinking I'd cut back to a basic 3 day split again if I started training :dunno:

Any other advice?

2. TotalEclipse02

no shit

did i ever say I was going to stop lifting? wtf reading comprehension :hsd:

glucosamine? will look into it

3. Jeff Merr

Jeff Merr Elite Member

Ya, during wrestling season and the off season when i used to train BJJ i would move my workouts to 3 days, i would do chest/tri, back/bi, legs/shoulders. There is no way i could have trained 4 days a week and still able to grapple or wrestle, i would always be so sore still and it would affect me big time. You should be cool on 3 days, just make sure you schedule it correctly.

4. Werdna

Werdna Livin' the SLO Life...

don't listen to pokesteve, rule #1 of F&N

5. 2000GT

2000GT Active Member

Just noticed this thread, even though its old, its still a worthy thread.

During rugby season and during mma training I do the same thing. I train 3 days, and I lift 3 days... I am lucky my rugby/mma training is tues, thurs, sat, so I lift mon, wed, fri.

On my mma/rugby days I drink a lot of water!! More so than usual cause I get dehyrdated so easily. Before I go to MMA I always warm up and strech at the gym. Our warmup is good, but I dont think we stretch enough in class. Other than that I expect to lose some strength, and lean out a bit, but overall my power stays close to when I am not training in sports.

6. joy division

joy division New Member

PM me , I have a CD full of sport specific excercises and routines ...