This thread is for Corporate IT professionals.

Discussion in 'OT Technology' started by Valence, Jul 9, 2005.

1. Valence

Valence Gustav Refugee

I just started my first "post" college "real" job. I have a degree in MIS and while I won't get too specific here since I did sign a non disc. and a non compete :rolleyes: I do want honest opinions from my peers. I will not disclose where I work, I am not selling our business. I want opinions and a general discussion among fellow IT professionals.

I work at an IT outsourcing firm. We do lots of things, such as provide products and services like everyone else. We do installs and customization of networks, telephony, backups etc etc like everyone else does.

We do corporate wide telephony systems first off. It's compatible with analog, digital/T1, and others that are not commonly used. It does VOIP if you wish, has plugins for IVR etc etc. I love it, never had anything so nifty and that had so many features to it, from controlling the phone from pc, to web access to your voice mailbox.

We are appliance reliant :naughty: meaning we would rather install appliances to do a task or function than a software install on a server. We use the barracuda spam and the new spyware firewalls, those are really :cool: Extremely easy to install config and then monitor and filter.
    Other things are appliances that make remote access a snap, Disc based backup systems etc etc

In addition we provide network certifications and consultation, even if we do not ever touch the network. Companies do hire us to make sure their network admin's are doing their job's properly.

Now , we can reduce the amount of IT staff has onsite, but we are not out to eliminate anyone's job. We prefer an IT staff on hand to handle the simple stuff like desktop support and things that are quick and easy to fix.

My question is what kind of things do you guys work with, now that i've explained in a round a bout way the things I work with...