this looks cool! v.parallels update

Discussion in 'OT Technology' started by mobbarley, Jun 3, 2007.

  1. mobbarley

    mobbarley Active Member

    Joined:
    Mar 4, 2005
    Messages:
    9,256
    Likes Received:
    2
    Location:
    Sydney
  2. skitcy

    skitcy uhm title! ok

    Joined:
    Jan 29, 2005
    Messages:
    1,302
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Seattle, Washington
    This finally mean it'll run Vista with Aero effects? If so I might finally get it. I have a few windows apps I like to use now ( every 2 -3 months ) and again.
     
  3. Dysfnctnl85

    Dysfnctnl85 IT/Apple/Rotary/(D)SLR Crew

    Joined:
    Dec 20, 2004
    Messages:
    3,064
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Fayetteville, Georgia
    Yuck.

    I'm interested to try games though -- it's being touted as a replacement for booting into Windows.
     
  4. CarRamRod

    CarRamRod The schnozzberries taste like schnozzberries.

    Joined:
    Jan 16, 2006
    Messages:
    902
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Austin, TX
    If it can run games like Company of Heroes at full speed, I might have to pick it up :)
     
  5. DatacomGuy

    DatacomGuy is moving to Canada

    Joined:
    Oct 14, 2002
    Messages:
    16,546
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Tampa, FL
    I use parallels daily.

    Looking forward to this update.
     
  6. xenon supra

    xenon supra OT Supporter

    Joined:
    Feb 3, 2005
    Messages:
    33,675
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    San Diego, CA
    in for oink
     
  7. Tvan

    Tvan New Member

    Joined:
    Jun 21, 2006
    Messages:
    9,012
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Chicago
    This is good news, hopefully I'll be able to do CAD without bootcamp.
     
  8. The1Ash10

    The1Ash10 Active Member

    Joined:
    Oct 10, 2002
    Messages:
    13,672
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    ATX
    :werd:
     
  9. dbman96

    dbman96 Active Member

    Joined:
    May 25, 2000
    Messages:
    49,996
    Likes Received:
    6
    fuck, I occasionally run Solidworks in Parallels already. With the shading options turned down it's tolerable for most purposes.

    I was excited about this for gaming, but Parallels only uses one core of the C2D for the guest OS, and you can only allocate part of your RAM, so it's not going to be ideal. I play Supreme Commander from bootcamp because it pretty much demands a dualcore processor. But most games that use that much CPU are going to be bottlenecked by the MBP's video card anyway.
     

Share This Page