This car = God

Discussion in 'OT Driven' started by Alternative, Jun 7, 2005.

1. Alternative

Alternative Guest

http://www.germancarfans.com/news.cfm/newsid/2050519.004

I don't know what is wrong with us Americans. I've been driving a diesel car now for about 3 months and I went back to driving a similar sized gasoline powered car and I just could not do it.

Diesel is better than Gasoline in every single way. (Except for the track :o )

2. Redline Racer

Redline Racer Subaru Tecnica International

Still isn't better for noise. Although modern diesel's are a lot quieter and more refined than they used to be, no diesel will ever match a petrol engine for aural excitement.

Further more, there is nothing sexy about dumping out clouds of black smoke under heavy acceleration :hs:

Can't beat the torque though.

3. Ice Rado

Ice Rado New Member

honestly...americans are stupid...

a) they(we) don't realize how worthless the hybrid is at this point...i read an article that gas would have to go up to around 7 bucks a gallon to actually even out w/ most regular gas cars...

b) diesel has awesome torque and easily hauls 4 people on the highway...the hybrids are built to shut off the gas on the highway but that doens't work if you need power...cuz if you are hauling 3/4 people its more strain and that just ends up using gas...and lots of it

and about the 'not at the track'...have you ever seen the diesel jag going around the nurb?...its pretty impressive...all things considered...they aren't performance and the only reason is...they are built for gas mileage not power...i'm sure you could make a pretty damn fast diesel car...torque numbers would be untouchable by a gasoline car

4. edrox

edrox A good man, and thorough