Thinking of installing Fedora Core on my laptop..

Discussion in 'OT Technology' started by DatacomGuy, Jan 22, 2006.

1. DatacomGuy

DatacomGuy is moving to Canada

Thoughts? I have no experience with Fedora (by name, have experience with RH though).

I've had issues in the past where I blew out a windows hard drive to install linux, didn't like it, but couldn't get windows back on it because the MBR got messed up. Don't want this issue.

Can I dual boot safely?

Basically I'm sick of windows issues with my laptop. I need to reformat it seems every 60 days or so to keep it running smoothly. I know how to use a PC and how to keep it in good running shape, however I'm tired of the issues. I need this for work..

Thoughts about switching from XP Pro to Fedora Core 4?

PC4 2.8 GHz with 512MB of RAM (448 because of shared RAM).
    ATI Mobility Radeon 9000
    Broadcom Wireless, Realtek 10/100...

2. peerk

peerk New Member

You should be able to dual boot safely. I am dual booting Fedora Core 4 on my laptop with XP.

But this wasn't always so. I had to edit a boot loader file because it was trying to boot XP from a partition with out an OS on it. Either I messed up during the install or it autodetected my partitions wrong.

Also I don't think your last linux install killed windows(unless you wrote over it). If something like that happens again you can try fixmbr. Or playing around with grub or lilo.

The only other thing that gave me trouble was getting wireless working with WPA. But I eventually got it working with ndiswrapper and wpa supplicant.

This helped me out: http://www.gagme.com/greg/linux/fc4-tips.php

Last edited: Jan 22, 2006
  3. Apothis

Apothis New Member