Thinking of going to Vista

Discussion in 'OT Technology' started by SycoPhant, Jan 13, 2008.

1. SycoPhant

SycoPhant Get out my way

Since I had to replace the mobo in my Huge Pile I've had a cornucopia off complications, most extending from being unable to use the proprietary HP windows discs as the board isn't branded any more.
    My parents got a new Dell w/ Vista Home on it, I kind of like it. I'm thinking of picking up Ultimate 64 off Ebay for $189, and it'll be a business purchase. Just wanted to see what you guys think of it...

2. GooeyGus

GooeyGus I has Laz0rz.

Its a tarp.

3. Zak8022

Zak8022 New Member

I've been using it on my new laptop for about 3-4 months now. Its got its idosycracies, but it seems fine to me. Personally, i really like the new search ability from within the start menu... the downside is my start menu is horribly unorganized, but the up side is i don't care, cuz i just hit the Windows Key and start typing in the name of the prog i want... and it searches (usually pretty quickly).

Alot of people dislike it... but i think it comes down to personal preference. If you're going to buy a new PC, i'd say get Vista. Just make sure you have enough RAM... cuz it does eat up ALOT of it.

4. negative zero

negative zero New Member

I've been using Ultimate 64 bit and have had no real issues at all. In the first two weeks, I had the system reboot randomly twice. No idea as to why and I even had the auto reboot turned off. Since then, it has not done it again.

TRhe only thing I have an issue with is hybernation. I set it up and it was perfect for about a week. I changed my screensaver and now sometimes my screensaver doesn't come on and even if it does, the system never goes into hybernation/sleep.
    Probably will reinstall vista in another month or tweo for the heck of it and see if it helps.

I hate the new start menu also. never knew you could just type the program name in. thanks. :coolugh:

5. deusexaethera

deusexaethera OT Supporter