thinking of going to linux for my home server- some Q's

Discussion in 'OT Technology' started by Biomechanoid, Jun 9, 2004.

1. Biomechanoid

Biomechanoid New Member

I have a multi-media server setup for hosting all my music and vids. currently I'm running XP professional, and it's working fairly well, but I'll have to restart once a week- not that big of a deal, but I was thinking of giving linux a try. all my other comps run XP, and I have never used linux before and have only really heard the hype- is it easy to share files over a network if one computer is using linux and the other is running XP. how long would the up time be before forcing a reset if I were to use linux? I've heard people claiming months :x:

2. Wolf

Wolf No one plans to take the path that brings you lowe

I think the learning curve trying to setup a linux media server would be way too long compared to the benefits of not having to reboot.

3. WERUreo

WERUreo Imua!

Yeah, unless you are really interested in learning Linux, it probably isn't worth changing. It's not as easy as you're probably used to. Samba (this is what you'd use to share files between Linux and XP, most likely) can sometimes be a big pain to set up. As far as uptime, I haven't really kept track of how long my server stays up, because I've heard a few brownouts recently. But usually, it stays up a long time before I need to reboot, which usually only happens when there is a new kernel out.

4. col_panic

col_panic calm like a bomb Moderator

i recently made the switch (well it isn't done yet) from xp to openbsd/samba but as has been said, the learning curve is steep. i would look into why you have to restart xp. here is a guide to disabling unnecessary services in xp - it might help with your problem if you disable what you don't need:

http://www.uksecurityonline.com/husdg/windowsxp/disableservices.htm

5. IAMwhitey

IAMwhitey New Member