A&P thinking of getting a Manager

Discussion in 'Lifestyle' started by SenenCito, Aug 11, 2008.

1. SenenCito

SenenCito OT Supporter

After a couple of misunderstandings ive had, i've come to the realization im not that good at the whole business side of photography, so consulting with someone who is into the music scene quite a bit (he manages bands and events) im considering the idea of having him manage the business side of my photography. I already got a really good impression with our firsts talks, basically the first thing he mentioned was about raising my market value by promoting me in the right channels.

What do you guys think..do other photographers do this type of deal?

2. alexromo

alexromo New Member

no we just sell to our family

3. Hyperite

Hyperite Vagina Junction OT Supporter

Sounds like a good idea, but what kind of misunderstandings have you had? Might be cheaper just to be more open about yours and the client's requirements. Also depends on your target clients: individuals want to talk to you directly, companies and venues probably like the instant availability of a manager.

4. SenenCito

SenenCito OT Supporter

it's funny when someone else does it.

5. wizeguy4

wizeguy4 New Member

I would only recomend Bobby "The Brain" Heenan of Jimmy "Mouth of the South" Hart and beware of The Colonel

6. SenenCito

SenenCito OT Supporter

just random small things that get on my nerves..but the second point is definitly the one im after, I don't want to keep doing small jobs that I have people fighting me over a 50 dollar difference, I want to go to bigger clients, shoot less while generating more.. I believe this guy can help me with this.

7. ///Mik3

///Mik3 New Member

for the most part, in the photography world, you don't get a manager, but rather a Rep or an Agent.