Thinking about RAID 0 setup

Discussion in 'OT Technology' started by jag6984, Jan 3, 2005.

  1. jag6984

    jag6984 New Member

    Joined:
    Apr 24, 2004
    Messages:
    991
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Rio De Janeiro
    I've got a pretty decent setup right now with one 120gb SATA HDD, and I'm thinking about adding another in for a RAID 0 setup since my motherboard (Asus K8V SE) supports it.
    I'm just wondering two things,
    since I mostly do basic school shit and games on it will it make much of a difference, or more to the point will the price and hassle be worth the extra performance?
    As well, how hard is it to setup, and are there any tools or apps that I could use other than copying my current HDD to an external (or something) and then recopying it back?
     
  2. lowfat

    lowfat 24/Mac/SciFi/PC Crew OT Supporter

    Joined:
    Oct 27, 2003
    Messages:
    63,949
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Grande Prairie, AB, Can
    I am not really a fan of RAID for home PC use. People say it seems to load games faster, but i disagree. My ATA133 120GB drive seems to load maps on UT2K4 as fast if not faster, then a friend of mine that has the exact same machine except he has 2 160GB SATA drives.

    unless you are moving around large files all the time, i would just stick with what you have.
     
  3. Penetration

    Penetration OT Supporter

    Joined:
    Jan 7, 2004
    Messages:
    19,258
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    MMM my ding ding dong
    pshhh when I have a pagefile and 1gb RAM it does load faster :p

    But like he said, unless you work with larger files a lot it's not that much of a difference. Then again if you do get another 120GB HD because you do not have enough space with one drive, set it up if your mobo supports it. It doesn't actaully cost anything but does give you performance when working with large files. If one fails however you lose ALL data.. Just something to think about.
     
  4. Ximian

    Ximian New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 20, 2004
    Messages:
    1,860
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    DCA
    You most likely want RAID 1. Mirroring works better with games/reads than striping/writes and is also more reliable.
     
  5. jag6984

    jag6984 New Member

    Joined:
    Apr 24, 2004
    Messages:
    991
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Rio De Janeiro
    cool, thanks for all the advice
     
  6. tofuthecourageous

    tofuthecourageous OT Supporter

    Joined:
    Nov 22, 2004
    Messages:
    7,876
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    CA fucking blows
    ya, i agree with ximian, get at least 1 if not higher. 0 has the least protection against losing information on your hd's.
     
  7. Psycho

    Psycho New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 27, 2003
    Messages:
    51
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Gold Coast, Australia
    Is raid1 faster than a single HD?
     
  8. Penetration

    Penetration OT Supporter

    Joined:
    Jan 7, 2004
    Messages:
    19,258
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    MMM my ding ding dong
    DVD burner + 50 DVD's = $70'ish. RAID0 is fine, just back up anything that is important, which should be regardless of HD setup.
     
  9. P07r0457

    P07r0457 New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 20, 2004
    Messages:
    28,491
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Southern Oregon
    you can read faster, but writes have a performance hit.
     

Share This Page