MIL Thinking about joining the Navy

Discussion in 'On Topic' started by Stiletto Princess, Feb 21, 2009.

1. Stiletto Princess

Stiletto Princess New Member

Hey everyone,
    I'm 25 years old, I graduated with a BA in History in December and I have no no clue what to do with the rest of my life. I thought about joining the Navy before I started college, and now that I'm done I'm thinking about it again.

Everyone says that if you have a Bachelors you can go in as an Officer, but the recruiter I spoke to briefly over the phone the other day said that it was competitive. My GPA wasn't great (a 2.92) and since it's competitive I'm curious about my chances.

Also, if I enlist, how feasible is it to become an officer later on down the road? I was thinking about this because I'm interested in working in Public Affairs and she said you typically have to have served before doing that.

I also have some questions about the physical aspects of enlisting in the military. I'm in pretty good shape, but I'm working towards being in excellent shape. I went on a Navy website and printed off their fitness training plans to work on. I know this is a stupid question, but the requirements for how many sit-ups/push-ups you can do... is there a time limit? I know that sounds kind of ridiculous, but I hate assumptions. Also, I'm not the strongest swimmer. I'm starting lessons next month, and I was curious as to how that would affect me.

Any help anyone can give me would be so appreciated.

2. crucial_fiction

crucial_fiction Active Member

Yes there are officer programs that you can get into after you enlist and it does make it somewhat easier seeing as you have your degree...as far as getting into specifics as to public affairs, I don't know where that would fall into play, because the only thing that will you get you on that side of the house as enlisted is going into Mass Communications rate.