Discussion in 'OT Bar' started by Sammo, Apr 8, 2006.
What was the controversy over this?
Yoshida spoke to the ref in Japanese and apparently said that Royce submitted so the ref called the match. Royce claimed that he did not submit physically nor verbally.
So who are we trusting?
It's blatantly obvious that he didn't tap. The ref just didn't see anything, and he called a tapout when Yoshida was yelling that he tapped.
wow nice technique on the guard slam, yoshida
wow that's bullshit. yeah he pulled off an arm triangle (or pillow choke? dunno) from inside half guard. riiiiight.
seeing how it resulted in a draw, what was the story there? was it reviewed and judged a draw after seeing that royce didn't actually tap?
That's the result of their 2nd match. The rules were if you get a submission you win, if it goes the distance it's a draw for fear of a biased ruling. Royce took off his top gi for the first time. Initially it was a good fight with Yoshida overpowering Royce. He had some opportunities for subs but just didn't know what to do. When he tired, Royce basically beat on Yoshida from back control until the match was over.
when did this take place?