SRS The Sea of Financial Aid

Discussion in 'On Topic' started by The Secretary, Mar 24, 2006.

1. The Secretary

The Secretary My domestic skills will rock your socks off!

This is somewhat going to be a rant but I need to tell some people that may be in my situation. I am a first generation college student on my dads side and first generation next to my cousins on my moms side. I live in one of the poorest states of the union.

Over the past 3 years I have been in pursuit of an accounting degree. My freshman year I messed up and came out with a 2.0 Gpa barely. I went away to school for my first year and thought that going out with my friends was more important, but that year I found out more outside of class than in, and I wouldnt trade anything for it. For my first year of school I was doing really good I got all but about $350 pd for plus books I did have loans my first year. I can attribute my great aid package to my dad being on unemployment for 10 months the previous year which my fafsa was based on, and my mom makes next to nothing anyway.

The second year I had to stay home bc even with the aid I owed 3700 each semester for school, so I stayed at home and went to a community college and paid about the same as I did the first year. The second year I got it all paid for including partial books. My GPA at the current school has been a 3.0 or better every semester.

Now I am applying to a major university in my town, I got in but I got the financial aid letter and they are only going to give me loans for about half the cost I will still owe 3G if tution goes up as expected. Thats not even for room and board just regular old tution not books.