"The new mac pro" ?

Discussion in 'OT Technology' started by Pineapple Devil, Jan 8, 2008.

  1. Pineapple Devil

    Pineapple Devil beat it!

    Joined:
    Oct 8, 2001
    Messages:
    53,754
    Likes Received:
    8
  2. rusbrmasas

    rusbrmasas New Member

    Joined:
    May 22, 2006
    Messages:
    47
    Likes Received:
    0
    I've been following the Mac Pro's of late because I am in the market for a new one. It looks like they have updated the Mac Pro line (this would also explain why the Apple Store is down).

    Before, the standard config options were:

    2 dual core xeons @ 2.66GHz
    1GB RAM
    GeForce 7300 GT with 256MB RAM
    250GB HD
    No Bluetooth 2.0 (it is a build to order option)

    Now, the new standard configuration is:

    Two 2.8GHz Quad-Core Intel Xeon processors
    2GB RAM
    ATI Radeon HD 2600 XT 256MB
    320GB HD
    Bluetooth 2.0

    Again, I am just going off the top of my head for the "old" configuration options, but I believe this is right.

    Thanks.
     
  3. Raider007

    Raider007 om nom nom nom

    Joined:
    Aug 26, 2002
    Messages:
    17,987
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Bay Area
    i think all the macpros are going to be quadcore out of the box now...
    i read a rumor about that a little bit ago... don't remember where...
     
  4. urban ape

    urban ape take that take that take that

    Joined:
    Aug 22, 2003
    Messages:
    9,220
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    League City, Texas
    i like to configure them full balls and just think about how fast it would be

    ends up being a little over 20 grand lulz
     
  5. AnoesisX

    AnoesisX New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 19, 2005
    Messages:
    2,868
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Boca Rotten, Florida
    they added the Nvidia 8800 GT 512mb as an option. And they are using the harpertown processors
     
  6. xenon supra

    xenon supra OT Supporter

    Joined:
    Feb 3, 2005
    Messages:
    33,675
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    San Diego, CA
    base is now a 2.8 dual quad core (8 cores)
     
  7. ady

    ady New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 3, 2005
    Messages:
    10,959
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    UK
    Pretty much what I expected, shocked they aren't offering the FX4600 and went with the 5600, and that it came early.

    Ordered a 3.2GHz :bowdown:
     
  8. Stemby

    Stemby Whoooose House? COOOOOOOOOOOOGS HOUSE!

    Joined:
    Sep 16, 2004
    Messages:
    3,465
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Houston,Tx
    this sucks! i thought it was still going to be another month before they got this......
     
  9. eighteen_psi

    eighteen_psi Active Member

    Joined:
    May 31, 2003
    Messages:
    2,381
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    925
    So tempted....finally some proper graphics horsepower :eek3:
     
  10. Deepsix

    Deepsix OT Supporter

    Joined:
    Jan 22, 2004
    Messages:
    19,537
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Canada
    ati ftl
     
  11. Raider007

    Raider007 om nom nom nom

    Joined:
    Aug 26, 2002
    Messages:
    17,987
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Bay Area
    umm... the new 45nm chip isn't just a speed bump...
    also the mac pro's aren't exactly aimed at your average joe... people who buy mac pro's need the horse power or else they'd get an imac. either that or they just want to say they have a mac pro to surf the web.
     
  12. ady

    ady New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 3, 2005
    Messages:
    10,959
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    UK
    Yeah this isn't a minor upgrade if you need the power. The base 8 core system packs alot more punch than the old Mac Pro and so do the options.

    I can understand there isn't alot to get excited by, but in the end it's a workstation. Apple now offer the fastest (non-overclocked) intel workstations there are, the have the best value and hottest consumer graphics card out there (8800GT), the best workstation card there is (FX 5600), and decent pricing for those looking at workstations.

    Sure it fails pretty hard if you just want a desktop Mac that isn't an iMac, but Apple have been pretty clear they aren't catering to that market. In my mind the Mac Pro is a system to compliment the Pro Apps that run on OSX, and it does that pretty well.

    This was a pleasent suprise to get home to today, wasn't expecting anything until Macworld and I was able to order the exact system I wanted to be able to get for the price I expected to pay. I'm sure I'm not the only one.
     
  13. DouggieJ

    DouggieJ OT Supporter

    Joined:
    Nov 1, 2007
    Messages:
    8,126
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    New York, NY USA
    Yeah, this isn't a minor upgrade. I have a quad-core Mac Pro, but I bought it last April and I really needed then cause my old G4 was literally on its last legs so I can't complain.

    It looks like some of these new Harpertown processors are socket compatible with the older Woodcrest ones, so it may even be possible to upgrade.
     
  14. ady

    ady New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 3, 2005
    Messages:
    10,959
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    UK
    You can definatly upgrade an older Mac Pro to Harpertown, but you need the 1333MHz FSB processors rather than the ones the new Mac Pro is using. It's also probable you can sell the old one and buy new for a similar price of upgrading.
     
  15. xenon supra

    xenon supra OT Supporter

    Joined:
    Feb 3, 2005
    Messages:
    33,675
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    San Diego, CA
    Still no blu ray though :wtc:
     
  16. Pineapple Devil

    Pineapple Devil beat it!

    Joined:
    Oct 8, 2001
    Messages:
    53,754
    Likes Received:
    8
    i just wish i could find a cheap g5 powermac
     
  17. xenon supra

    xenon supra OT Supporter

    Joined:
    Feb 3, 2005
    Messages:
    33,675
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    San Diego, CA
    don't go back to ppc. :ugh: you'll regret it when all the big apps are optimized for intel.
     
  18. mobbarley

    mobbarley Active Member

    Joined:
    Mar 4, 2005
    Messages:
    9,256
    Likes Received:
    2
    Location:
    Sydney
    xserve got the update too :bowdown:
     
  19. TheWeasel

    TheWeasel Guest

    Yup. I guess all those XServes recently purchased by the US Army and a couple other agencies are now old news. Apple released the 500GB XServe option days after the AFP got their servers. Apple was nice enough to upgrade them from the 320GB drives they had gotten originally. Maybe they'll do the same for our government guys (then again they seem to be much nicer in Oz).
     
  20. Pineapple Devil

    Pineapple Devil beat it!

    Joined:
    Oct 8, 2001
    Messages:
    53,754
    Likes Received:
    8
    meh, i dont use my powerbook for anything other than ps, web, email, and media so i wouldnt care. i just want a desktop and anything newer than mine
     
  21. ady

    ady New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 3, 2005
    Messages:
    10,959
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    UK
    If you don't mind buying used or refurbished, keep a look out on Apple's refurb site, craigslist, ebay, various mac forums that have marketplaces and other such sites. I often see some great deals, both with lots of extras (obviously for a larger price) and base machines with no upgrades being sold off cheap.
     
  22. Pineapple Devil

    Pineapple Devil beat it!

    Joined:
    Oct 8, 2001
    Messages:
    53,754
    Likes Received:
    8
    i look at apples refurb site a few times daily, but ive only seen like 2 apple towers go through the local craigslist and they were g4's. i may find one eventually. not sure how much im willing to pay for one though.

    i totally envy the guy on here that got a dual 2.0 from compusa for $150
     
  23. ady

    ady New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 3, 2005
    Messages:
    10,959
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    UK
    It's often luck for the really good deals. I got a 3GHz quad with a quadro FX 4500 for £2000 from some rich kid what was dropping out of school and didn't want it anymore, and my brother picked a quad G5 up from a business going under for like £500. Schools can also be a great source, especially for the highest end dual G4s (which can still hold their own for many things) and G5s.
     

Share This Page