The iBook doesn't have audio in?

Discussion in 'OT Technology' started by lordcoca, Sep 21, 2004.

  1. lordcoca

    lordcoca Wading in the Velvet Sea

    Joined:
    Jun 30, 2002
    Messages:
    6,834
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Kansas City
  2. jabbadeznuts

    jabbadeznuts ΜΟΛΩΝ ΛΑΒΕ

    Joined:
    Jun 27, 2004
    Messages:
    3,143
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    PDX
    Buy the iMic.
     
  3. lordcoca

    lordcoca Wading in the Velvet Sea

    Joined:
    Jun 30, 2002
    Messages:
    6,834
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Kansas City
    I've heard that there are latency issues with the iMic, can anyone disprove those stories? I'm using a G4 iBook, 1 ghz with 256 RAM, I may upgrade the RAM if it's necessary, but I'd prefer not to :hs:
     
  4. lordcoca

    lordcoca Wading in the Velvet Sea

    Joined:
    Jun 30, 2002
    Messages:
    6,834
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Kansas City
    If I got the imic, can I connect my guitar directly into that, or would I still need to purchase a 1/8 to 1/4 adaptor? Anyone know where I can find a good one of those for cheap? :hs:


    Getting the imic + the adaptor is a lot more than just getting that cable :(
     
  5. Error

    Error ¿ti†le øut-of_order

    Joined:
    Mar 24, 2003
    Messages:
    1,410
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Tysons Corner, VA
    I see no lag in the iMics we used at school :)
     
  6. lordcoca

    lordcoca Wading in the Velvet Sea

    Joined:
    Jun 30, 2002
    Messages:
    6,834
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Kansas City
  7. IcyHot4Life

    IcyHot4Life Str8 Ballin'

    Joined:
    Aug 2, 2002
    Messages:
    18,151
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Inquire Within
    go look at m-audio's offerings... the MobilePre is a nice box, it'll let you do 1/4" or XLR in... you may need a DI box inbetween the Pre and the guitar though, to balance the signal. :dunno:
     
  8. IcyHot4Life

    IcyHot4Life Str8 Ballin'

    Joined:
    Aug 2, 2002
    Messages:
    18,151
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Inquire Within
    no. What's your setup right now, do you have a direct input box? I would assume not if all you do is plug into amps.

    Actually nevermind, I did a little research on the box I was talking about, and you can just plug your guitar straight into it... the box accepts 1/4" balanced or unbalanced inputs.

    http://www.m-audio.com/products/en_us/MobilePreUSB-main.html

    that box will do all you'll probably ever need to get an instrument or two into your machine, if it looks like overkill shop around through their other products, you're sure to find something that suits your needs.
     
  9. lordcoca

    lordcoca Wading in the Velvet Sea

    Joined:
    Jun 30, 2002
    Messages:
    6,834
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Kansas City
    I actually just picked up an imic, since it was only $35. I figured it'd be suitable for what I'm doing right now :hs:

    I didn't want to spend too much on it seeing as I've been wanting to pick up an acoustic guitar to go alongside my electric ;)
     

Share This Page