the aftermarket radio in my gf's altima goes in and out

Discussion in 'OT Technology' started by Enron John, Oct 9, 2005.

  1. Enron John

    Enron John :mamorlu: OT Supporter

    Joined:
    Jun 3, 2004
    Messages:
    32,130
    Likes Received:
    0
    i put a pioneer 3700 in there and it seems that the reception for a few channels goes in and out.

    what do i need to do to fix this so that all channels are clear like they were with the factory headunit?

    im pretty sure that everything is connected tightly
     
  2. ledzep73

    ledzep73 New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 28, 2005
    Messages:
    6,868
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Louisville
    Well it only takes a few minutes to take one out and check the connections and put it back in. Might as well start from there.
     
  3. Ronin

    Ronin Guest

    get a giant 5 foot long cb style antenna and bolt it in for the win
     
  4. Enron John

    Enron John :mamorlu: OT Supporter

    Joined:
    Jun 3, 2004
    Messages:
    32,130
    Likes Received:
    0
    already did :hs:
     
  5. DaddyThirdLeg

    DaddyThirdLeg SMASH puny humans

    Joined:
    Oct 9, 2001
    Messages:
    3,258
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Canada
    Hows the ground? make sure the metal is bare and attached to the frame. Did you get a good quality antenna adapter? i've seen some shitty ones in customers cars, flea market style
     
  6. Enron John

    Enron John :mamorlu: OT Supporter

    Joined:
    Jun 3, 2004
    Messages:
    32,130
    Likes Received:
    0
    the ground is between a screw and a metal bracket near the ashtray. i guess i should move it to the frame somewhere

    yeah, i got the antenna adapeter from best buy
     
  7. Enron John

    Enron John :mamorlu: OT Supporter

    Joined:
    Jun 3, 2004
    Messages:
    32,130
    Likes Received:
    0
    alright, i re-grounded it to a better surface and it does the same thing.

    when the car is not in motion it is fine, when i start going, it is fine as well, but say if i down a big hill with the car, it loses reception of a few channels, then when i make my way back up the hill, the channel comes back. it never did this with the stock radio.

    should i try a new antenna adapter or what?

    :confused:
     
  8. JonnyBlazeRSP

    JonnyBlazeRSP Hustlin's in my veins - you cannot stop it - Walki

    Joined:
    Feb 11, 2005
    Messages:
    38,414
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Brockton, Mass
    bad / weak receiver :dunno:
     
  9. Enron John

    Enron John :mamorlu: OT Supporter

    Joined:
    Jun 3, 2004
    Messages:
    32,130
    Likes Received:
    0
    it worked perfectly in the previous car it was in. its only 3 months old
     
  10. twistid

    twistid Banged By Super Models Moderator

    Joined:
    Jul 15, 2001
    Messages:
    40,739
    Likes Received:
    84
    Location:
    The Kansass/Oklahomo Border
    maybe you got a bad antenna adapter, it's not unhread of... if they're bad, they're usually bad out of the box.
     
  11. Ronin

    Ronin Guest

    yeah id say something wrong with the antenna system including the internal tuner (maybe)

    :dunno:

    my gfs car is kind of like that but hers just like a stock set up pretty much
     
  12. LOUDSYSTEM

    LOUDSYSTEM New Member

    Joined:
    Jun 22, 2004
    Messages:
    68,890
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Peoria, AZ

    i agree with this statement :o

    have a few bad antenna adapters
     

Share This Page