Test Lights

Discussion in 'OT Technology' started by PEnGUiN188, Sep 11, 2007.

  1. PEnGUiN188

    PEnGUiN188 New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 28, 2007
    Messages:
    5,835
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Cincinnati, Ohio
    Do you use them? half the shop swears by them, half dont use them.

    We are talking about the wakeon "computer safe" ones.
     
  2. twistid

    twistid Banged By Super Models Moderator

    Joined:
    Jul 15, 2001
    Messages:
    40,835
    Likes Received:
    114
    Location:
    The Kansass/Oklahomo Border
    for troubleshooting in the shop... i use only a multimeter, and a speaker popper/test speaker(that i made myself).
     
  3. JRock10

    JRock10 Active Member

    Joined:
    May 25, 2005
    Messages:
    7,751
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Nashville, TN FTW
    if i'm testing for sure power wires, yes i'll use it. great for alarms and radio hard wires
     
  4. fuzion1029

    fuzion1029 New Member

    Joined:
    May 19, 2007
    Messages:
    213
    Likes Received:
    0
    bad idea, unless you like getting hit in the face by airbags.
     
  5. JRock10

    JRock10 Active Member

    Joined:
    May 25, 2005
    Messages:
    7,751
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Nashville, TN FTW
    :hsugh: good reason not to test airbag wires with them.
     
  6. PEnGUiN188

    PEnGUiN188 New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 28, 2007
    Messages:
    5,835
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Cincinnati, Ohio
    Well,only if your dumb enough to test the wires wrapped in loom with the plugs with like 5 safety's to prevent pulling apart..
     
  7. kwhitelaw

    kwhitelaw OT Supporter

    Joined:
    Sep 1, 2004
    Messages:
    22,870
    Likes Received:
    116
    Location:
    virginia
    or a mid '90s bmw with twisted pair wires in the kick that happen to match the speaker color wires...
     
  8. kwhitelaw

    kwhitelaw OT Supporter

    Joined:
    Sep 1, 2004
    Messages:
    22,870
    Likes Received:
    116
    Location:
    virginia
    you can crank the engine on a ford ranger from the radio harness. seen it done. test lights are the devil.
     
  9. JRock10

    JRock10 Active Member

    Joined:
    May 25, 2005
    Messages:
    7,751
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Nashville, TN FTW
    :rolleyes: please post pics and some more specs. every ranger i've ever done a radio in had only radio wires in the harness.
     
  10. kwhitelaw

    kwhitelaw OT Supporter

    Joined:
    Sep 1, 2004
    Messages:
    22,870
    Likes Received:
    116
    Location:
    virginia
    trust me. i called bs when i was told. A guy at BB had an installer in his bay hardwiring a radio and the truck cranked when he was popping for speakers.

    we all said bs and then set out to get a ford ranger in the bay. i never got to try it but 2 other guys did.

    this was years ago but i will try and find the info.
     
  11. JRock10

    JRock10 Active Member

    Joined:
    May 25, 2005
    Messages:
    7,751
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Nashville, TN FTW
    i'm guessing there were some other hacks going on in that dash.
     
  12. twistid

    twistid Banged By Super Models Moderator

    Joined:
    Jul 15, 2001
    Messages:
    40,835
    Likes Received:
    114
    Location:
    The Kansass/Oklahomo Border
    i'm in the middle of truck counrty, and i've lost count how many rangers i've done... and i have never had a ranger, crank from the stereo harness... it must have been one bastardized truck... i've seen weird wiring jobs, but that's because an "expert installer" was in there before me.
     
  13. JRock10

    JRock10 Active Member

    Joined:
    May 25, 2005
    Messages:
    7,751
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Nashville, TN FTW
    :rofl::rofl::rofl: that's what i was thinking!
     
  14. kwhitelaw

    kwhitelaw OT Supporter

    Joined:
    Sep 1, 2004
    Messages:
    22,870
    Likes Received:
    116
    Location:
    virginia
    got more info...

    apparently some rangers (and i'd imagine bseries mazda) have a red/blk in the stereo harness that is tied into the RAP circuit to shut the deck off during cranking.. when you backfeed 12v on that wire it cranks.
     
  15. JRock10

    JRock10 Active Member

    Joined:
    May 25, 2005
    Messages:
    7,751
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Nashville, TN FTW
    still seems farfetched. the rap should feed thru a relay that is tied into the door triggers and starter (ignition? it's been a while since i read that) wire. i remember reading how to make your own at one point, and IIRC, the starter (maybe it was ignition) wire would (typically) feed the 85 pin on a SPDT (5 pin) relay when it would rest at ground. the rap power should be feeding thru the 87 and 30 pins when the vehicle shut off, so the starter (ignition) wire shouldn't see any backfeeding unless the relay (or factory circiut) is defective somewhere.
     

Share This Page