MIL Tell me all about being an AF Fighter Pilot

Discussion in 'On Topic' started by AustinL911, May 30, 2005.

1. AustinL911

AustinL911 Illudium Q-36 Explosive Space Modulator

I have decided that this is where I want to go with my life after wasting 2 years in college. I think I'm going to major in Commercial aviation or something along those lines, and then, once I have my bachelors, I will hopefully, join the AF as an officer with the intent on being a fighter pilot (preferably an F-22 Raptor). And then maybe when I get old, IF I would decide to leave the AF, I could fall back on being a commercial airline pilot, if I so choose.

So, What I want to know is, EVERYTHING!

Any and all info you can think of that a perspective fighter pilot should know, spill it.

One thing I want to do is TRAVEL! I want to see as much of the world as humanly possible. I know the Navy does a bunch of traveling, but, I'm not so much interested in the Navy as I am the AF. Should I look into the Navy as well? Do you get to travel a lot in the AF?

What qualifications do you NEED? What qualifications should you have, but aren't a necessity?

What things Disqualify you from becoming a fighter pilot? Can some of them be fixed?

Age requirements?

Do you have to attend the AF Academy? If not, what's the point behind the AF Academy?

VISION REQUIREMENTS?!?!?!?! <== This is a biggie. I currently have perfect vision in my right eye, with only a SLIGHTLY whacky left. That isn't to say that they won't get worse, as both of my parents have bad vision (to what extent, I'm not exactly sure). Do they allow fighter pilots to have laser corrective surgery done?

Flight Stories you've heard?

Is it a good field to get into?

What do pilots do when they aren't flying?

Are you allowed to select which aircraft you want to fly on a normal basis? Are you stuck with one plane your entire AF career or do they let you fly multiple types?