Tell me about getting a UPS

Discussion in 'OT Technology' started by delussional77, Jul 23, 2007.

  1. delussional77

    delussional77 Active Member

    Joined:
    Jan 1, 2005
    Messages:
    3,782
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Overland Park, KS
    I am tired of spending $80+ for the heavy battery surge protectors from best buy to only have them fail in a year or less. I am looking at getting a more robust UPS to run a pair of desktops (5 HD's split between the two), a pair of LCD monitors, and some small peripheral items for at least 30 minutes in case of power failure.

    What are my options and more importantly where can I go to find one?
     
  2. Harry Caray

    Harry Caray Fine purveyor of x.264, h.264 & TS HD-Video !!! HD

    Joined:
    Apr 19, 2001
    Messages:
    17,176
    Likes Received:
    5
    Location:
    MyCrews:4x4,SoCal,Tesla,EV's
    APC Smart UPS 1500 for short money....

    Last ups you'll need

    /thread
     
  3. delussional77

    delussional77 Active Member

    Joined:
    Jan 1, 2005
    Messages:
    3,782
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Overland Park, KS
    Well at $500 I would just keep buying the crappy surge/battery protectors.

    Any other suggestions?
     
  4. DAN513

    DAN513 OT Supporter

    Joined:
    Mar 10, 2003
    Messages:
    10,089
    Likes Received:
    2
    Location:
    204
    that's a lot of load and a long run time, I doubt you're going to find anything of reasonable quality for less.
     
  5. P07r0457

    P07r0457 New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 20, 2004
    Messages:
    28,491
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Southern Oregon
    yea, UPS tech is costly to buy.
     
  6. Harry Caray

    Harry Caray Fine purveyor of x.264, h.264 & TS HD-Video !!! HD

    Joined:
    Apr 19, 2001
    Messages:
    17,176
    Likes Received:
    5
    Location:
    MyCrews:4x4,SoCal,Tesla,EV's
    I don't know where you r looking...

    but Smart UPS 1500's are $249-$269 "buy it now" on Ebay.. w/batts
     
  7. delussional77

    delussional77 Active Member

    Joined:
    Jan 1, 2005
    Messages:
    3,782
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Overland Park, KS
    I see, I guess I should tone down the 30 minute runtime in case of power failure. Any opinions on this UPS:

    http://www.officedepot.com/ddSKU.do?id=560809

    I may just hook up my main computer and not my HTPC as there would be no point during power failure because the TV wouldn't work anyway.
     
  8. wabash9000

    wabash9000 Active Member

    Joined:
    Dec 27, 2006
    Messages:
    14,392
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Overland Park, KS
    have you looked at the size of that one? it is huge. 14 3/5 inches tall 3 2/5 inches wide and 13 1/10 deep. I have heard decent thing about it but I don't think that would be enough to power both computers. get 2 of them and you should be fine.
     
  9. delussional77

    delussional77 Active Member

    Joined:
    Jan 1, 2005
    Messages:
    3,782
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Overland Park, KS
    I actually revised my needs, I think I will only need to power my main computer/monitors and really I only need to keep it on for about 15 minutes to 30 minutes.
     
  10. deusexaethera

    deusexaethera OT Supporter

    Joined:
    Jan 27, 2005
    Messages:
    19,712
    Likes Received:
    0
    Buy a laptop. It will run for 180 minutes after a power failure.

    :rofl:

    EDIT: Actually, all you need for a personal UPS is to have it power the computer (no screens at all) for ONE minute so the UPS can trigger Hibernate mode. You can wake it back up after the power comes back on.
     
  11. Peyomp

    Peyomp New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 11, 2002
    Messages:
    14,017
    Likes Received:
    0
    That UPS looks adequate to me.

    Fuck, wanna buy an APC 1500 rack UPS from me? It is heavy as a motherfucker, but enterprise grade and will run your shit forever. $400.
     
  12. DatacomGuy

    DatacomGuy is moving to Canada

    Joined:
    Oct 14, 2002
    Messages:
    16,546
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Tampa, FL
    I'm using a Tripp-Lite SMART1500RM2U 2U R/M. Have been using it for 3 years, love it.

    You need to figure out your load and your needed runtime.. then buy based on that.
     

Share This Page