A&P Teach me how to take better nightshot pics *pic

Discussion in 'Lifestyle' started by WiLL, Aug 17, 2005.

  1. WiLL

    WiLL Active Member

    Joined:
    Sep 16, 2001
    Messages:
    9,450
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    bayarea
    I was trying to take a skyline panorama at night. I had the camera on a tripod, however I did not use a remote or timer (so me touching the camera might have something to do with it). I tired different shutter speeds, fstops, and ISOs. I kept the white balance on auto. I even did manual and auto focus.

    I tried for a good 30 mins and wasnt able to get anything that was really focus sharply. Here is one of the sharper pics (full crop):

    [​IMG]

    And some info on that shot
    [​IMG]


    What am I doing wrong?
     
  2. vizual

    vizual → 190½ ЯBI ←

    Joined:
    Oct 23, 2001
    Messages:
    13,086
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Gouge Eye, Ca
    Use mirror lock-up, and if you don't have a cable release, just use the timer, that way absoultely no force is being put upon the camera prior/during the shutter opening... :dunno:
     
  3. WiLL

    WiLL Active Member

    Joined:
    Sep 16, 2001
    Messages:
    9,450
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    bayarea

    Does that look like the problem in this case?
     
  4. vizual

    vizual → 190½ ЯBI ←

    Joined:
    Oct 23, 2001
    Messages:
    13,086
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Gouge Eye, Ca
    possibly. The buildings don't really look that out of focus, i think the blown highlights + a slight blur/movement may have caused it. It looks like you can see some blurring on the smaller building, the one with the word at the top, between the two taller ones
     
  5. Kira Yamato

    Kira Yamato New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 17, 2005
    Messages:
    21,141
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    北海道 / Florida
    where can i get the full version of opanda free?
     
  6. hash browns

    hash browns lolcathlon champion OT Supporter

    Joined:
    Aug 20, 2004
    Messages:
    95,391
    Likes Received:
    85
    Location:
    Manhattan Beach, CA
    your tripod is probably too lame for the application that when you trigger the shutter by hand, it shakes the whole thing
     
  7. Tedrzz

    Tedrzz New Member

    Joined:
    Jul 6, 2005
    Messages:
    1,578
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Brooklyn, NY
    i think your ISO is too high and your shutter speed isn't long enough. usually when i shoot at night my iso is left at like 200 and my shutter speed is around 15 seconds when my fstop is 4.5
     
  8. hash browns

    hash browns lolcathlon champion OT Supporter

    Joined:
    Aug 20, 2004
    Messages:
    95,391
    Likes Received:
    85
    Location:
    Manhattan Beach, CA
    most cameras have fine details smeared out when you do long exposures -- exposures over 1 second can be considered long -- due to current leakage / aka: dark current noise -- and when they do dark-frame subtraction, all the details get smeared out

    so keeping iso low and going down to 15 second exposures can actually work against you if you are trying to get the smaller details.
     
  9. Ingen

    Ingen New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 19, 2005
    Messages:
    7,381
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Teh ohioz0r
    You should just get a job with canon or nikon already.

    Or start your own camera company :noes:
     
  10. WiLL

    WiLL Active Member

    Joined:
    Sep 16, 2001
    Messages:
    9,450
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    bayarea

    The ISO was at 320 IIRC. I also did one at a big fstop and longer shutter. I got the same results. I think it could be the fact that I shook the camera when I pushed the shutter.

    Hash: Most cameras, including the D70?
     
  11. multiplexor

    multiplexor Intellectual

    Joined:
    Sep 12, 2001
    Messages:
    5,038
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Montreal Quebec Canada

    this is true and i never even thought about it... most of my night shots are all smeared... they look fine... but yeah not "finely detailed"...

    i hve an a85... use iso 50 with shutter set to 15 seconds / f8.0
     
  12. Malghanim

    Malghanim My wee wee has been Stricken with Rigor Mortis

    Joined:
    Oct 18, 2004
    Messages:
    9,709
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    SC.CA.US *******OT BIKE CREW****
    well all the points were covered.. but keeping it a long shutter it will come out a bit blurry..
     
  13. hash browns

    hash browns lolcathlon champion OT Supporter

    Joined:
    Aug 20, 2004
    Messages:
    95,391
    Likes Received:
    85
    Location:
    Manhattan Beach, CA
    The D70 is better at 200 than at any other setting..

    I'm mostly talking about many point and shoot digitals and some Canon Digital SLRs that support an ISO 50 mode



    I would say that CCD and CMOS based imagers both have their flaws in this.

    Generally CCD designs are much better than CMOS in terms of true-image quality, noise, scalability, etc.

    Canon marketing seems to have people believing differently with the magic of their Digic ASIC/DSP chips.

    The best long-exposure cameras are probably the D2H camera bodies because of the JFET based LBCAST sensor which has a minimal amount of-- basicaly zero -- dark current noise leaking during a long exposure. Your only concern is going to be the battery or power supply holding out.

    Most cameras that do the "dark-frame-subtraction" thing take twice as long to do a single long exposure too. So if you want a 15 second exposure, it will take 30 seconds. Some people shoot into many minutes too :eek3:
     
  14. WiLL

    WiLL Active Member

    Joined:
    Sep 16, 2001
    Messages:
    9,450
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    bayarea

Share This Page