TCC Review - 2006 Dodge Charger Daytona

Discussion in 'OT Driven' started by TriShield, May 23, 2005.

1. TriShield

TriShield Super Moderator® Super Moderator

More of the same, just different.

[​IMG]

by Paul A. Eisenstein
    (2005-05-23)

Whenever I head back to the family homestead, the final leg of my journey takes me down Poole Avenue, which served, when I was a young driver, as the neighborhood dragstrip. It's a wide ribbon of smooth asphalt, mostly straight, but for the kink at one end that's now guarded by an oversized hunk of Armco.

Lest you wonder where this story is going, that dogleg is still known, 30 years after the fact, as Woody's Corner, for the man who often wound up running off the road there, once punching a hole through a kitchen wall. Despite his problems with braking, Woody was, for much of my youth, the meanest, badass street racer ever seen in Central New Jersey. He dominated the highways with a classic Dodge Charger. He made enough money betting on the car to buy himself a service station, not so much to have a job as to be able to keep working on his beloved coupe, with its menacing, 426-cubic-inch Hemi.

I long ago lost touch with Woody, which is too bad because I'd love to know what he thinks of the new Dodge Charger, which has just gone into production. We've certainly heard from plenty of other Mopar fans; TheCarConnection.com has never received as much mail as it has concerning the '06 Charger.

Controversial Still

[​IMG]

If you ignore the short-lived and excruciatingly inappropriate Dodge Omni Charger, of 1982, it's been 28 years since Chrysler last bolted the Charger name onto the back of an automobile.