GUN "tactical" boots?

Discussion in 'On Topic' started by DrewDown, Oct 28, 2008.

1. DrewDown

DrewDown OT Supporter

So I'm in desperate need of some boots in case of a apocolypse or "bug out" situation. Needs to be steel toed, comfortable and some sort of zipper or quick way of getting them on or off. And obviously the cheaper the better.

Actually I need these for work and WMD has always been a huge help in finding stuff like this. I'm a firefighter but I figure my requirements are pretty close to somethin you'd want if you're stocking up for SHTF situations. It's not uncommon for me to wear them for close to 24hrs at a time. I don't so much mind having to tie a regular lace when we get a call in the middle of the night. My beef is if I get a fire call in the middle of the day and I'm racing to get my shit on and have to fumble with knots.

I bought these slip on doc martins that a bunch of guys recommended and have worn them about 2 times. They feel like turnout boots. My pants are always gettin hiked up around the top and they are too loose for my tastes. Any recommendations?

2. Soybomb

Soybomb New Member

I think doc marten's kind of suck. The sole is decent enough for standing comfort but the rest of the fit, especially without half sizes and widths can be crappy. I have a few cop buddies that dig danners. Personally I have no idea :big grin:

3. sprite

sprite Active Member

I wear Danners and they are bomb proof. You'll pay through the nose for them though.

If you don't have time to lace then one thing that would open up a lot of options for you would be lace-in-zippers.

4. DrewDown

DrewDown OT Supporter

Soybomb I agree with you about the Doc Martins.

Thanks guys, I will do some research on those danners. Every 6 months I get a uniform allowance so I dont mind spending a little as long as it's something quality that I like.

5. Paul Revere

Paul Revere OT Supporter

i'd like to get some danners, but im :sad2: on the price

6. McCroskey