T minus 14 days till I get my radeon 9700 pro back

Discussion in 'OT Technology' started by MP, Sep 26, 2003.

  1. MP

    MP New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 10, 2002
    Messages:
    34,377
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Silicon Valley
    Blew the damn thing up :hs:

    Thank god for 3 year warranty. Now I just have to wait..



    [waits]






    .

    ...
     
  2. Penguin Man

    Penguin Man Protect Your Digital Liberties

    Joined:
    Apr 27, 2002
    Messages:
    21,696
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Edmonton, AB
    T plus like a month since I was supposed to get my new fucking machine :mad: I gotta give them another call sometime.
     
  3. MP

    MP New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 10, 2002
    Messages:
    34,377
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Silicon Valley
    i just miss playing AOM, BF1942, UT2k3 :wtc:

    so boring without those games in my life :hs:

    my 7500 *rawr* just doesn't cut it.
     
  4. kingtoad

    kingtoad OT Supporter

    Joined:
    Sep 2, 2003
    Messages:
    55,923
    Likes Received:
    11
    Location:
    Los Angeles
    Hehe. The 9700 pro is by far the best card that I've owned. I like it.
     
  5. Leb_CRX

    Leb_CRX OT's resident terrorist

    Joined:
    Apr 22, 2001
    Messages:
    39,994
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Ottawa, Canada
    lude & king, what resolution & settings you play games at? (just generally with good FPS)

    just wondering cause I am thinking of getting one, and want to know if it'll be a big improvment
     
  6. MP

    MP New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 10, 2002
    Messages:
    34,377
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Silicon Valley
    i generall do 1280 x 1024.

    I'm held back by my monitor. It's a 21" sony crt that is slowly going bad. 1280x1024 plays well for me though.
     
  7. Leb_CRX

    Leb_CRX OT's resident terrorist

    Joined:
    Apr 22, 2001
    Messages:
    39,994
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Ottawa, Canada
    damn that's kick ass, thats the res I want to play at comfortably...

    whats the specs on your machine if you dont mind me asking...is that with 32 bit or 16 bit color/textures??
     
  8. kingtoad

    kingtoad OT Supporter

    Joined:
    Sep 2, 2003
    Messages:
    55,923
    Likes Received:
    11
    Location:
    Los Angeles
    I play all games at 1600x1200 with 32 bit textures. I don't really play intense graphical games though. Mostly BF1942. Jedi Knight Academy, and Tron 2.0 Beta. I tried Planetside with that resolution but it really hurt. I had to lower it to 1280x1024.

    I have a 2ghz athlon cpu and a gig of pc2700.
     
  9. MP

    MP New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 10, 2002
    Messages:
    34,377
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Silicon Valley
    p4 2.26 533mhz FSB
    Abit BD7-II motherboard
    512mb Kingston Pc-2100 DDR
    ATI radeon 9700 pro

    always 32 bit.

    graphic settings are always set to max/highest settings. Playing ut2k3 online i usually get an avg of 55 - 65fps running everything on high. I'm sure if i turned off some of the high detail shit it would jump up, but 50fps is plenty for me. I absolutly LOVE the card. I'll be able to play all the next gen games (doom3, HL2, ut2k4) with out any problems at all. If i had a better monitor I'de bump the resolution up aslo.
     
  10. Leb_CRX

    Leb_CRX OT's resident terrorist

    Joined:
    Apr 22, 2001
    Messages:
    39,994
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Ottawa, Canada
    damn that's sweet, I will check into getting that card soon in that case, thanks guys
     
  11. MP

    MP New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 10, 2002
    Messages:
    34,377
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Silicon Valley
    i knew it was powerfull when i had to plug it into the PSU :eek3:
     
  12. kingtoad

    kingtoad OT Supporter

    Joined:
    Sep 2, 2003
    Messages:
    55,923
    Likes Received:
    11
    Location:
    Los Angeles
    I had some very bad experiences with my Radeon :( I'm glad it's all over now, and it works top notch :big grin:
     
  13. Rick

    Rick New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 20, 2002
    Messages:
    1,735
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Henderson, NV
    I think I'm going to go with ATI next time. Right now I have a GeForce4 Ti4200 64meg, so no reason to upgrade now.
     
  14. Rick

    Rick New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 20, 2002
    Messages:
    1,735
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Henderson, NV
    BTW, how did you fry it? Overclocking?
     

Share This Page