System Won't Boot to Windows Server CD?

Discussion in 'OT Technology' started by BlazinBlazer Guy, Dec 18, 2003.

  1. BlazinBlazer Guy

    BlazinBlazer Guy Witness to The De-Evolution of Mankind.

    Joined:
    Jul 24, 2002
    Messages:
    18,783
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Lansing, MI USA
    I have a spare system I'm setting up as a server, and I can't get it to boot to a CD to install the OS. I've tried 3 different CD drives, and a windows server and windows XP CD I know will boot to other systems. I've re-set and checked the CMOS settings for boot drive order 3 times, and it absolutely will NOT boot to CD. Is there any way I can use a floppy to boot into setup? When I boot off an old Windows 98 bootdisk it says "this program cannot be run in DOS mode." (it will read CD's fine from DOS after being booted from a floppy)

    What I'm using is the Windows Server 2003 Enterprise Edition Evaluation Kit CD.

    this is getting really, really frustrating :rant2:
     
  2. SLED

    SLED build an idiot proof device and someone else will

    Joined:
    Sep 20, 2001
    Messages:
    28,118
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    AZ, like a bauce!
    there should be a directory on the cd with an .exe in it which will give you the option to make 4 (or may be more with 2003) floppies. i think the folder is "boot" but don't quote me on that, i haven't installed 2003 yet. :hs:
     
  3. Rob

    Rob OT Supporter

    Joined:
    Jul 6, 2002
    Messages:
    88,617
    Likes Received:
    39
    Location:
    Atlanta, GA
    Like SLED said....all Windows CDs have the boot floppy images on them. You just have to make them. And usualy there are 4-5 and they take FOREVER to make and use. :ughd:
     
  4. BlazinBlazer Guy

    BlazinBlazer Guy Witness to The De-Evolution of Mankind.

    Joined:
    Jul 24, 2002
    Messages:
    18,783
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Lansing, MI USA
    2003 server has no boot disk images on disc.... atleast not that I see anywhere on the disk :dunno: I know I used to have to do that for 2000 workstations/servers but I don't find it here?
     
  5. 12345678

    12345678 EH?

    Joined:
    Sep 10, 2002
    Messages:
    2,900
    Likes Received:
    0
    u can also run an install from 98. if u can get a basic 98 installed, then u can install of the cd.
     
  6. BlazinBlazer Guy

    BlazinBlazer Guy Witness to The De-Evolution of Mankind.

    Joined:
    Jul 24, 2002
    Messages:
    18,783
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Lansing, MI USA
    :ugh:
     
  7. 5Gen_Prelude

    5Gen_Prelude There might not be an "I" in the word "Team", but

    Joined:
    Mar 14, 2000
    Messages:
    14,519
    Likes Received:
    1
    Location:
    Vancouver, BC, CANADA
    Which program are you running? Setup.exe or the winnt.exe in the i386 folder? Assuming it's like W2K, you can run the latter with the 98 disk.
     
  8. JimboJones

    JimboJones Guest

    Yeah but doesn't this make the copy process REALLY slow because some utility isn't loaded that speeds up the process?
    That's what I remember anyway from the time I set up W2K this way.
    I guess if that's his only option, he might as well do it and get it over with.
    At least that is something that should work.
     
  9. 5Gen_Prelude

    5Gen_Prelude There might not be an "I" in the word "Team", but

    Joined:
    Mar 14, 2000
    Messages:
    14,519
    Likes Received:
    1
    Location:
    Vancouver, BC, CANADA
    Smartdrv - but you can add that to your config.sys on your Win98 boot disk
     
  10. BlazinBlazer Guy

    BlazinBlazer Guy Witness to The De-Evolution of Mankind.

    Joined:
    Jul 24, 2002
    Messages:
    18,783
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Lansing, MI USA
    hmm... hadn't thought about that one... I'll give it a shot I guess :hs:
     
  11. BlazinBlazer Guy

    BlazinBlazer Guy Witness to The De-Evolution of Mankind.

    Joined:
    Jul 24, 2002
    Messages:
    18,783
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Lansing, MI USA
    ok, its running.... very slowly.

    Only thing I don't really like right now is that I had to format both partitons on the HD is FAT32 for setup to run. Hopefully it gives me the option to convert to NTFS somewhere along the road.
     
  12. JimboJones

    JimboJones Guest

    That's what it was, smartdrv, I forgot.
     
  13. Rob

    Rob OT Supporter

    Joined:
    Jul 6, 2002
    Messages:
    88,617
    Likes Received:
    39
    Location:
    Atlanta, GA
    You can always convert to NTFS after the install is done. There is a command line tool that allows you to do it.
     
  14. 5Gen_Prelude

    5Gen_Prelude There might not be an "I" in the word "Team", but

    Joined:
    Mar 14, 2000
    Messages:
    14,519
    Likes Received:
    1
    Location:
    Vancouver, BC, CANADA
    It's in the setup process. But you should have only had to convert the "active" partition to FAT32. The rest of it can be whatever you want or unpartitoned space. I make it a habit to fdisk a partition size of my system partition the size I want it and leave the rest unpartitioned for me to deal with later in windows.
     
  15. BlazinBlazer Guy

    BlazinBlazer Guy Witness to The De-Evolution of Mankind.

    Joined:
    Jul 24, 2002
    Messages:
    18,783
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Lansing, MI USA
    well, the setup didn't work, it hung up. I'm getting fed up with this crap, why couldn't microsoft just include floppies to boot from?! :mad: I've even searched MSDN and TechNet, no clues are given that I can find.
     
  16. 5Gen_Prelude

    5Gen_Prelude There might not be an "I" in the word "Team", but

    Joined:
    Mar 14, 2000
    Messages:
    14,519
    Likes Received:
    1
    Location:
    Vancouver, BC, CANADA
    Well, try going to www.bootdisk.com and see if any of those use the smartdrv.exe file.

    The reason is no one uses floppies anymore - or at least that's what people tell me...
     
  17. BlazinBlazer Guy

    BlazinBlazer Guy Witness to The De-Evolution of Mankind.

    Joined:
    Jul 24, 2002
    Messages:
    18,783
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Lansing, MI USA
    I'd love to know who "no one" is -- the IT department where I used to work, we had 2-3 boxes of 500 floppies of various sorts of software.
     
  18. 5Gen_Prelude

    5Gen_Prelude There might not be an "I" in the word "Team", but

    Joined:
    Mar 14, 2000
    Messages:
    14,519
    Likes Received:
    1
    Location:
    Vancouver, BC, CANADA
    I know - I use em all the time considering all of our computers are older than usb key technologies. But go and buy a computer these days and you'll find that floppies are becoming a dying breed.
     
  19. BlazinBlazer Guy

    BlazinBlazer Guy Witness to The De-Evolution of Mankind.

    Joined:
    Jul 24, 2002
    Messages:
    18,783
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Lansing, MI USA
    when even Dell starts charging $10-$15 EXTRA to even put a floppy drive in a new computer you buy from them, :werd:

    incidentally, I found a boot disk (Windows ME of all things :ugh: ) that uses Smartdrv and setup is still crashing... I'm running out of ideas here :hs:
     
  20. 5Gen_Prelude

    5Gen_Prelude There might not be an "I" in the word "Team", but

    Joined:
    Mar 14, 2000
    Messages:
    14,519
    Likes Received:
    1
    Location:
    Vancouver, BC, CANADA
    How far does it get?
     
  21. BlazinBlazer Guy

    BlazinBlazer Guy Witness to The De-Evolution of Mankind.

    Joined:
    Jul 24, 2002
    Messages:
    18,783
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Lansing, MI USA
    it gets about halfway through loading files then just hangs up completely :hs:
     
  22. 5Gen_Prelude

    5Gen_Prelude There might not be an "I" in the word "Team", but

    Joined:
    Mar 14, 2000
    Messages:
    14,519
    Likes Received:
    1
    Location:
    Vancouver, BC, CANADA
    What I do is ghost the MS-DOS portion of the install, saves time and can be moved from system to another. Just have to ghost it right after it copies the files.
     

Share This Page