System architects

Discussion in 'OT Technology' started by trouphaz, Jan 22, 2008.

1. trouphaz

trouphaz New Member

So, are there any system architects in this forum? I've been a UNIX admin/architect for about 10 years now and a storage admin/architect for about 4. Are there any others of you who work in an enterprise environment? It doesn't necessarily have to be UNIX.

2. sonicsuby

sonicsuby New Member

I've been in UNIX engineering for about two years now. Admin for two years prior.

3. crontab

crontab (uid = 0)

i was titled system architect (UNIX/SAN) back at my old employer, Dow Jones. Now I am just a Sr. unix admin, although those types of roles don't really seem to apply to this environment or this employers method of workflow...

4. trouphaz

trouphaz New Member

so, what do you guys generally call yourselves? i've been called a sys admin, a system engineer and a system architect. whenever i've said engineer, someone starts arguing with me over the semantics of the title. they keep saying, "you aren't really engineering anything new. you are architecting solutions using readily available tools and systems."

either way, what are your day to day roles and responsibilities? i guess the 3 separate roles that i see (if you go fairly high level) are support, deployment/implementation and design. i usually think SA when i'm talking support and deployment while i think system engineer/architect more with design and implementation. then, the distinction between deployment and implementation is really the level of effort involved. for deployment i just think of someone handling the racking, powering, cabling and OS install. then, implementation is more of an integrated solution where you are expected to build an HA environment with databases and application integration.

by the by, crontab, i love your AV and your username. :)

5. mrj

mrj New Member