WEB Syntax error v. Facebook app

Discussion in 'OT Technology' started by babygodzilla, Sep 26, 2007.

  1. babygodzilla

    babygodzilla I love rice

    Joined:
    Nov 5, 2001
    Messages:
    3,108
    Likes Received:
    0
    edit: problem solved. my host fucked up. :)
     
    Last edited: Sep 27, 2007
  2. JoeyJoJoJuniorShabadoo

    JoeyJoJoJuniorShabadoo Live Free or Die

    Joined:
    Nov 9, 2004
    Messages:
    4,347
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    http://www.stogietime.com
    what does the rest of your document look like?
     
  3. kingtoad

    kingtoad OT Supporter

    Joined:
    Sep 2, 2003
    Messages:
    55,918
    Likes Received:
    9
    Location:
    Los Angeles
    Do you have PHP5 installed? Or are you using an older version of PHP? I do not see a problem with your code unless you're calling the objects incorrectly.
     
  4. intrktevo

    intrktevo New Member

    Joined:
    Oct 18, 2004
    Messages:
    5,781
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    UCF
    upgrade to php5, or rewrite the try/catch statement to work with php4
     
  5. VD

    VD Active Member

    Joined:
    Aug 18, 2004
    Messages:
    71,510
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    TWIN CITIES
    I'm going to try playing around with some of this tonight. :o
     
  6. babygodzilla

    babygodzilla I love rice

    Joined:
    Nov 5, 2001
    Messages:
    3,108
    Likes Received:
    0
    ok apparently my host fucked up. i had to do some configuration to activate php5 on my account, and they told me the wrong thing. so problem solved. thanks for the replies everyone!

    now for some comments. I’ve gone through the Facebook Developer step-by-step tutorial, and I must say it’s not very good. It gives you pieces of code, instructs you to copy paste them onto a certain file, and describes the expected result without any explanation to the code. Granted the code itself is not very complicated, but it’d be nice to actually explain what the functions actually do, or what the markups mean. For example, this piece of code:
    Code:
    $fbml = <<<EndHereDoc
    <form>
    <input name="mockfbmltext" type="text" size="30">
    <br />
    <input type="submit"
      clickrewriteurl="$appcallbackurl"
      clickrewriteid="preview" value="Draw text below"
    />
    <br />
    <div id="preview" style="border-style: solid; border-color: black;
      border-width: 1px; padding: 5px;">
    </div>
    </form>
    EndHereDoc;
    
    This form doesn’t have any action or method whatsoever, and the input element has some custom properties, namely “clickrewriteurl” and “clickrewriteid”. I’m not sure what they do, but apparently they enable the user to input some text into “mockfbmltext,” hit the Submit button, and the “preview” div element is magically filled with the text the user typed in. OK I suppose the clickrewriteid=”preview” is the part that tells the code where to print the text, but how does it know what to print? How does it know to grab mockfbmltext’s text and print that. What if I have more than one input elements in the form?
     

Share This Page