Switching from Verizon to AT&T Can I Keep my Number?

Discussion in 'OT Technology' started by BIGsteev, Jan 2, 2008.

  1. BIGsteev

    BIGsteev New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 27, 2007
    Messages:
    65
    Likes Received:
    0
    I am planning on switching from Verizon to AT&T and getting an iPhone, but will I be able to keep my phone number? I have a Samsung SCH-A870 with Verizon, but I don't know much about it. Thanks
    [​IMG]
     
  2. P07r0457

    P07r0457 New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 20, 2004
    Messages:
    28,491
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Southern Oregon
    It depends on your number. The number is part of a "rate center". If AT&T has the neccessary facilities for that rate center, and the number is WLNP-eligible, then yes you can keep it (also requires your account to be in good-standing with verizon).


    MOST of the time, the answer is yes. Sometimes the answer is no. Unless you have some knowledge of LERG I would recommend you simply call AT&T and ask them.
     
  3. BIGsteev

    BIGsteev New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 27, 2007
    Messages:
    65
    Likes Received:
    0
    Thanks :)
     
  4. BlackWRX02

    BlackWRX02 OTs Cingular Guru

    Joined:
    Jul 8, 2002
    Messages:
    3,642
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Daytona
    99.999999% of the time yes you can keep your number.

    Just make sure the rep attempts to port it in the right market if its an out of town number
     
  5. Spencer Barnes

    Spencer Barnes BEAR DOWN

    Joined:
    Aug 2, 2006
    Messages:
    6,396
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    chicago
    i made the same switch from verizon to att and yes i got to keep my number
     
  6. TheWeasel

    TheWeasel Guest

    :werd: Porting was fun when I worked for Time Warner Cable. :ugh2:
     
  7. P07r0457

    P07r0457 New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 20, 2004
    Messages:
    28,491
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Southern Oregon
    porting is not that big of a deal so long as the LEC puts you in the right rate-center, and the Wireless provider has you in the right CSA.
     
  8. OakleyTodd

    OakleyTodd New Member

    Joined:
    Aug 13, 2006
    Messages:
    2,160
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Las Vegas
    Also, be aware your ability to accept incomming text messages may not work for upto 24 hours while the switch happens. Mine took about 4-6 hours.
     
  9. doix

    doix New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 24, 2005
    Messages:
    45
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Seacoast, NH
    I worked for AT&T, then Cingular. Porting is a PITA, but if the Rep does it right, you will be receiving calls within 6 hours.

    Good Luck Bro!
     
  10. P07r0457

    P07r0457 New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 20, 2004
    Messages:
    28,491
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Southern Oregon
    I just ported from AT&T back to Sprint and the port took less than 15 minutes. The success of the port is all on you... Give them 100% accurate info and it will work great because computers will do it all. If your info does not match 100%, then it's gonna take longer because humans are going to have to get involved.
     
  11. ///M

    ///M New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 3, 2006
    Messages:
    45,246
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    WA
    So you ditched the Curve and went back to Sprint?

    Did you open a new account with Sprint or what? I'm curious as I saw in the other thread that you now have an 8130 on SERO, which I have been told isn't possible (some bullshit about some conflict between Blackberrys are SERO, how they're not compatible with SERO or something :dunno:) :hs:
     
  12. xenon supra

    xenon supra OT Supporter

    Joined:
    Feb 3, 2005
    Messages:
    33,675
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    San Diego, CA
    i was able to keep mine when i went from verizon to my iphone on att
     
  13. P07r0457

    P07r0457 New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 20, 2004
    Messages:
    28,491
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Southern Oregon
    Yes I have a 8130 on SERO. I did the order online. There was a problem at first because none of the BB services worked. A call to Sprint turned up that the online system doesn't actually add the BB plan when you select it -- hence the "issue" between SERO and BB. But 30 seconds later they had added the plan and provisioned it. Reboot the phone, and presto. Everything works great.

    Basically the online system will provision a SERO w/DATA plan and that causes the BB plan to fail. they have to swap you to a special SERO V/O plan (voice only) then they add a $30.00 blackberry pack.

    [​IMG]
    [​IMG]
    [​IMG]
     
    Last edited: Jan 27, 2008
  14. quickone

    quickone New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 15, 2004
    Messages:
    4,179
    Likes Received:
    0
    I jus switched yesterday from verizon to at&t and they said could take 3hrs up to a day for the switch to happen with my number...it happened 20 min after i left the store.
     

Share This Page