Swapping Kenwood recievers... will they use the same wire harness?

Discussion in 'OT Technology' started by PC Principle, Nov 28, 2008.

  1. PC Principle

    PC Principle New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 12, 2004
    Messages:
    64,143
    Likes Received:
    0
    I bought the Kenwood KDC-MP238 today for 79$. My Toyota Tacoma currently has the Kenwood KDC-S3009 receiver in it. Will the harness on the current Kenwood fit my new receiver? Will I just be able to slide the old one out, unplug it, and then just simply plug in the new one to the old connector? I tried figuring this out myself online but could not fin the answer. Thanks for your help in advance.
     
  2. JRock10

    JRock10 Active Member

    Joined:
    May 25, 2005
    Messages:
    7,751
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Nashville, TN FTW
    look at the harnesses when you pull the old one out. should swap, but not 100% sure
     
  3. redfred18t

    redfred18t New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 21, 2008
    Messages:
    1,842
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Western MA
    If you compare the installation manuals online, you may find your answer. To be honest I'm not sure but I know sometimes manufacturers switch the harnesses over time.
     
  4. PC Principle

    PC Principle New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 12, 2004
    Messages:
    64,143
    Likes Received:
    0
    Thanks for the help you all. I looked at both manuals and even though they do not describe what wiring harness they use all the wire colors are the same. Here's hoping. :x:
     
  5. PC Principle

    PC Principle New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 12, 2004
    Messages:
    64,143
    Likes Received:
    0
    lol I took apart my center console today to look at the connector. It may very well be the same damn thing. :bowdown:

    I'll find out when my receiver comes in.
     
  6. CrazyInteg

    CrazyInteg Honda-Acura.net OG

    Joined:
    Dec 30, 2000
    Messages:
    12,206
    Likes Received:
    3
    Location:
    Omaha
    I always buy Sonys for this reason. Installation is so easy when you just pull one out and push a new one in.
     
  7. bbmobbin

    bbmobbin Active Member

    Joined:
    Apr 17, 2007
    Messages:
    1,639
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    OC, CA
    the harness may be the same and plug right in, but check the wire colors as well and make sure there the pins are the same.
     
  8. redfred18t

    redfred18t New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 21, 2008
    Messages:
    1,842
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Western MA
    Sorry to go offtopic, but has there even been a decent Sony head unit in the past 5-10 years? :rofl:
     
  9. CrazyInteg

    CrazyInteg Honda-Acura.net OG

    Joined:
    Dec 30, 2000
    Messages:
    12,206
    Likes Received:
    3
    Location:
    Omaha
    Never had a problem. Been buying the Xplod series. It tunes radio stations, plays MP3 CDs, has sub output and powers my factory speakers. Button layouts are decent and screens display all important information.

    My budget is about $130 and the Sony decks have worked fantastic for me. Usually buy a new one every 1-2 years due to theft. A new window almost always costs more than the CD player.
     
  10. PC Principle

    PC Principle New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 12, 2004
    Messages:
    64,143
    Likes Received:
    0
    Well I got it in today and everything was the same. Took me all of 15 minutes from start to finish replacing the old one. :rofl:
     

Share This Page