GUN SW? ACP? What do they mean?

Discussion in 'On Topic' started by ez4me2c3d, Oct 23, 2003.

1. ez4me2c3d

ez4me2c3d Guest

I've searched high and low, and now I’m searching some where in the middle. I’ve asked friends, supervisor, coworkers, dad, family and everyone I run into is either A) ignorant about the subject or B) just like everyone else and just don’t know.

So now I ask you all, what is the significance of the SW in .40SW or the ACP in 45ACP (and if there are others that fall into this category also)

I have come to the conclusion that SW is Smith & Wesson. But I’m not sure as to why they would put that on every (seems like every) .40 cal pistol.

I'm in need of some serious learning here. Thanks in advanced for the replies.

Last edited by a moderator: Oct 23, 2003
  2. Paulie Walnuts

Paulie Walnuts Im an agent of chaos

The 40 cal S and W is there as it is my understanding from a local gun shop is because Smith and Wesson invented that round, therefore tis printed on everything. The 45apc is for semi autos liked the model 1911 the other one which I cant remember is for the old west 45 revolver types if I understand correctly

Welcome and ask questions as much as needed!

3. RCSTZ71

RCSTZ71 Guest

S&W = Smith and Wesson cause they invented the round

ACP = It stands for Automatic Colt Pistol. The .25 ACP, .32 ACP, and .380 ACP are known in Europe as the 6.35mm Browning, the 7.65mm Browning and the 9mm Browning Short. There is also the .45 ACP and the .38 Super ACP (usually called just the .38 Super, the original .38 ACP being rarely encountered these days); I don't know if the last two have ever had European equivalents. They were all, with the possibly exception of the .38 Super, designed by John Moses Browning for use in Colt automatic pistols.

Hope this help.

4. ez4me2c3d

ez4me2c3d Guest

I see, so basically it's giving credit where credit is due.