svchost.exe error *windows 2000*

Discussion in 'OT Technology' started by lsondubz, Aug 12, 2003.

  1. lsondubz

    lsondubz Guest

    Help! I installed the latest update packets and all, but its still happening.
     
  2. Altair

    Altair Guest

    I have something similar sometimes on my Server 2K3. But it only happens rarely. (Its not the mass hack if its on Server 2000 I would assume).
     
  3. D1G1T4L

    D1G1T4L Active Member

    Joined:
    May 4, 2001
    Messages:
    16,489
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Bay Area
    both of you are fucked, reinstall ur OS and download the patches right away
     
  4. Altair

    Altair Guest

    Just for reference. What exactly is it?
     
  5. D1G1T4L

    D1G1T4L Active Member

    Joined:
    May 4, 2001
    Messages:
    16,489
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Bay Area

    its one of the biggest exploit ever some dcom thing

    basically if you dont have the patches or firewall on, they can just connect to you and get c:\ prompt and do anything from there

    i think they have some automatic script now after they connect it installs a trojan, so even after you update and install anti virus, it wont help anymore

    so after you install OS better turn on firewall and install the patch or you are in trouble :squint:
     
  6. Altair

    Altair Guest

    I ended up have a worm called Lovgate.F. Finnally got rid of it though.
     
  7. lsondubz

    lsondubz Guest

    ahh wonderful :rant2:
     
  8. Aimless

    Aimless Resident drunkey

    Joined:
    Nov 5, 2001
    Messages:
    2,534
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Wisconsin
    It *is* possible to get a svchost error without being infected by anything. A client was getting one at work today because he had installed an assload of patches, then was trying to install some apps without rebooting first.
     
  9. CompiledMonkey

    CompiledMonkey New Member

    Joined:
    Oct 26, 2001
    Messages:
    8,528
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Richmond, VA
    :slap:
     
  10. D1G1T4L

    D1G1T4L Active Member

    Joined:
    May 4, 2001
    Messages:
    16,489
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Bay Area
    suck on deez nuts :eek3:

    instead of using :slap: why dont you explain why i am wrong :rolleyes:
     
    Last edited: Aug 13, 2003
  11. D1G1T4L

    D1G1T4L Active Member

    Joined:
    May 4, 2001
    Messages:
    16,489
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Bay Area

    yea it "is" possible but most likely it's the dcom exploit
     
  12. CompiledMonkey

    CompiledMonkey New Member

    Joined:
    Oct 26, 2001
    Messages:
    8,528
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Richmond, VA
    Exactly.

    Alex, how do you know these guys even have a virus? Even if they did get Blaster, you don't need to wipe the system. Symantec has put out removal tools and MS has patches for it. All of which work wonders. I personally have removed it from a couple of different systems. You got a slap because you gave stupid advice for someone to reinstall their OS. If you knew anything about this worm, you'd know it only affects 2000 and XP machines. 2003, as Altair is running, can't be infected unless manually released upon the machine. So again, please don't give out a "you're fucked, reformat" suggestion when you don't know what you're talking about. Somebody might think you've been dealing with this already and take your advice.
     
  13. D1G1T4L

    D1G1T4L Active Member

    Joined:
    May 4, 2001
    Messages:
    16,489
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Bay Area

    from what i heard it installs a trojan that cant be removed and it's better to reinstall all over again

    i know i would, it's not that hard to back up the files and reinstall than have a possibility of some trojan on your comp doing nasty shit like stealing your personal information, credit cards numbers

    so best suggestionis to reinstall, install a firewall and do the update
     
  14. crotchfruit

    crotchfruit Guest

    so my boss emails me and says, "i'm getting the svchost.exe blah blah". i check his registry and sure enough he has the blaster worm. i run the removal tool and patch the system, but his computer is still fuxed.

    my impression is that D1G1TAL is correct - an infected system may have other virus payloads run on it, so that cleaning out the blaster worm is not enough to say that the system is clean again. you have to sweep for other viruses too.

    if there is enough damage, a reinstall may be warranted, but i think it's on a case by case basis.
     
  15. D1G1T4L

    D1G1T4L Active Member

    Joined:
    May 4, 2001
    Messages:
    16,489
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Bay Area

    :bigthumb:
     
  16. D1G1T4L

    D1G1T4L Active Member

    Joined:
    May 4, 2001
    Messages:
    16,489
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Bay Area

    WRONG

    my friend has 2003 and he got infected as well, he had to reinstall btw
     
  17. CompiledMonkey

    CompiledMonkey New Member

    Joined:
    Oct 26, 2001
    Messages:
    8,528
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Richmond, VA
    I read it in an article.
     
  18. CompiledMonkey

    CompiledMonkey New Member

    Joined:
    Oct 26, 2001
    Messages:
    8,528
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Richmond, VA
    Its not always the easiest thing to do. In my case trying to remove the worm is the best solution.
     
  19. CompiledMonkey

    CompiledMonkey New Member

    Joined:
    Oct 26, 2001
    Messages:
    8,528
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Richmond, VA
    Like you said, may have a different virus on it. Anything is possible. I personally have had great success using the removal tools from Symantec. The School of Business had 135 infected systems, all of which were fine after the Symantec tool was used (thank god I didn't have to do it).
     
  20. D1G1T4L

    D1G1T4L Active Member

    Joined:
    May 4, 2001
    Messages:
    16,489
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Bay Area

    i read an article stating that microsoft is using monkeys to code for them, u wouldnt be one of them would u? :eek3:

    point is, dont trust everything you read

    about my friend with windows 2003
    his computer started shutting down every 10 mins or so (no he didnt have a patch), he patched it, used removing tools, other things started to happen, so he had to reinstall...
     
  21. CompiledMonkey

    CompiledMonkey New Member

    Joined:
    Oct 26, 2001
    Messages:
    8,528
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Richmond, VA
    I wish. :eek3:

    Well like crotch said, take it on a case by case basis. We didn't really have the option of reinstalling on our systems though (we only had 2). I know the School of Business guys didn't reinstall either. That would have taken forever. They are idiots in keeping their systems up to date anyways.
     

Share This Page