A&P super photography newb

Discussion in 'Lifestyle' started by sm0ke, Mar 31, 2005.

1. sm0ke

sm0ke OT's Stargate expert.

OK. I'm a super newb at photography.

I got a Canon A95 about 2 months ago and I've been just snapping pics left and right using the simple modes.

I know to take some really nice picture i need to learn how to use the manual modes.

My question is this. Where is a good place to go for imormation on choosing what settings to use in what situations? I don't know what ISO or all the other little things do.

2. Nick

Nick Guest

Read the sections in your camera's manual about aperture, shutter speed, ISO, and white balance. Those are probably the most important things for you to worry about. Learn how to set them and what they do. Here's a real quick summary:

Aperture: controls your depth of field. This is how far in front of and behind your focus point that other objects will appear in focus. A lower number means a larger aperture which will open the lens wider, giving you a smaller depth of field.

Shutter speed: controls how long the sensor is exposed to light. This determines whether a moving object will appear frozen, and also how much camera shake you'll see. Faster shutter speed = less camera shake and better freezing of moving objects.

ISO: determines how sensitive the sensor is to light. At a higher ISO the sensor needs less light to achieve the same exposure, allowing you to use a faster shutter speed or smaller aperture. The trade-off to this is that a higher ISO will have more noise. You can leave ISO on auto pretty much all the time and not worry about it.