Suggestions on companies to work for after graduation?

Discussion in 'OT Technology' started by Coottie, Aug 15, 2006.

1. Coottie

Coottie BOOMER......SOONER OT Supporter

As you may or may not know, I'm currently a CS student about to start my Sr. year. When I got my first degree (accounting) there were a couple of standard paths for careers. However, most people went to work for one of the Big 8 accounting firms (now it's Big 5 I think) and started studying for the CPA exam...I didn't because I hated accounting :) .

However now that I'm about to graduate from my CS degree, I'm wondering are there similar career paths for programmers?? My interest lie in many different areas of CS but mainly I like DBs, Web Programming and Games. I want to direct my career and not just end up in a job somewhere. I have good grades and feel comfortable with a few different languages.

So my questions are:
    - Where do most CS graduates start their careers?
    - Are certifications (from MS or CompTia) as valuable as many people make them sound?
    - Where did the really good application developers learn their methods?
    - Is it better to start with bigger companies or smaller companies?

I'm going to update my resume and start looking for a job but even with all my hardwork so far (39 hours of CS courses with 3.85/4.00 GPA), I still feel unprepared to enter the workforce. This feeling comes from being a bit overwhelmed by all there is to know about professional software development.

So I want to be a professional developer - I very motivated and want to learn a lot of things about a lot of different technologies - but I'm not sure where to start looking for a job. Any suggestions??

2. samm

samm Next in Line

Have you done any internships? If not, I would highly suggest them since it gives you great experience that you otherwise do not get in school.

3. 7960

7960 New Member