suggestions on a new router

Discussion in 'OT Technology' started by hellsspawn, Mar 18, 2007.

  1. hellsspawn

    hellsspawn New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 1, 2006
    Messages:
    503
    Likes Received:
    0
    im sick of my craptastico dlink...

    i have an airport express.. range sux....

    i would buy the new extreme, but i need to be able to add external antennas...

    what the hell should i buy?

    most reliable?

    built in HD and printer support is a must!
    audio would be nice too
     
  2. ez4me2c3d

    ez4me2c3d Cold Member

    Joined:
    Sep 19, 2003
    Messages:
    1,836
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Minneapolis, MN
    shit, I've had my linksys for like 3+ years and it's ran perfect for me. I don't think I'll ever get rid of it. I've heard the newer linksys routers are crap. But that's just me talk'n.
     
  3. Rip The Jacker

    Rip The Jacker New Member

    Joined:
    Jul 24, 2002
    Messages:
    53,993
    Likes Received:
    0
    the new linksys really are crap. they slowed them down and reduced the memory. you cant even put the full version of dd wrt on them :ugh2:
     
  4. dorkultra

    dorkultra OT's resident crohns dude OT Supporter

    Joined:
    Oct 14, 2005
    Messages:
    22,752
    Likes Received:
    29
    Location:
    yinzer / nilbog, trollhio
    i've always had good luck with netgear routers, although my friend had the exact same (exactly the same because i let him borrow it for a year) router, and would get his signal dropped and had to reset it several times a week. he's an idiot when it comes to computers
     
  5. Ignited

    Ignited Active Member

    Joined:
    Mar 5, 2007
    Messages:
    11,017
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Philly/NJ
    I have a Belkin N1 and I love it.
     
  6. skolen

    skolen Guest

    I have a Belkin WirelessG and I hate it. It's only 2' from my computer and speeds are slow. The interface to set it up sucks and it randomly drops out.

    I'm trying to snag an Extreme off eBay. You said you wanted an external antenna but you can use that existing Express you have as a repeater to boost it. Might be worth your while.
     
  7. TheManLouisianaFace

    TheManLouisianaFace and decide!

    Joined:
    Sep 22, 2004
    Messages:
    32,995
    Likes Received:
    0
    Airport Extreme

    and you don't need external antennas.
     
  8. elevator

    elevator The tenants think it's wonderful! ヽ(´ OT Supporter

    Joined:
    Mar 25, 2005
    Messages:
    10,967
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Houston, TX
    .
     
  9. MeanFiddler

    MeanFiddler The C.I.A. is Trying to Kill Me

    Joined:
    May 5, 2006
    Messages:
    189
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    England
    Not Netgear. I've had bad experiences with two of theirs, as has a friend of mine.
     
  10. nehmia

    nehmia New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 8, 2006
    Messages:
    2,895
    Likes Received:
    0
    nothing but great experiences with netgear, both me and my gf on macbook pros.
     
  11. TheManLouisianaFace

    TheManLouisianaFace and decide!

    Joined:
    Sep 22, 2004
    Messages:
    32,995
    Likes Received:
    0
    Antennas can't increase your output, they can only focus it into more concentrated areas. So if you need omnidirectional signal, antennas won't help you. Setup airport express' as WDS clients.
     
  12. kamikaze

    kamikaze Active Member

    Joined:
    Jan 30, 2005
    Messages:
    33,629
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Barrie Ontario
    are the airport express routers that bad? I'm looking to replace my 11b router and I was thinkin of getting one of those.
     
  13. hellsspawn

    hellsspawn New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 1, 2006
    Messages:
    503
    Likes Received:
    0
    so airport is still looking like a good possibility.. the problem is, i would like to have access in my shop (700m from house) and didnt want to run a hard line.... but if the extreme is reliable (doesnt slow down, crash, or drop out like my dlink) then thats what ill get...

    one question about the 802.11n

    only my laptop uses N does that mean that it will slow down the whole connection to G for everyone else?
     
  14. kamikaze

    kamikaze Active Member

    Joined:
    Jan 30, 2005
    Messages:
    33,629
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Barrie Ontario
    i'm not sure if you can run mixed modes like that or not, but I would stay away from N until it becomes standardized....as of now it's still a draft spec to the best of my knowledge.
     
  15. IcyHot4Life

    IcyHot4Life Str8 Ballin'

    Joined:
    Aug 2, 2002
    Messages:
    18,151
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Inquire Within
    yeah, but at the same time, WDS is a big tradeoff in bandwidth unless you buy a router that has two radio units, and can operate full duplex... and afaik you're not gonna find anything like that in the consumer sector :dunno:
     
  16. violator

    violator New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 7, 2003
    Messages:
    4,483
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Bay Area
    WRT54GL right hurr
     
  17. Mach D

    Mach D New Member

    Joined:
    Jun 2, 2004
    Messages:
    6,091
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Earf
    i have an airport extreme in a pretty big house here and have no issues with connection anywhere.
     
  18. hellsspawn

    hellsspawn New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 1, 2006
    Messages:
    503
    Likes Received:
    0
    so if i use the express... then it will only run in g?
     
  19. 2K-2.5RS

    2K-2.5RS No caffeine - No function

    Joined:
    Sep 10, 2000
    Messages:
    967
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    La Quinta, CA
    DGL-4300, love it.
     
  20. et3rnul

    et3rnul OT Supporter

    Joined:
    Mar 15, 2006
    Messages:
    308
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    SoCal
    .
     
  21. hellsspawn

    hellsspawn New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 1, 2006
    Messages:
    503
    Likes Received:
    0
    any answer for my last question?
     
  22. skolen

    skolen Guest

    Well, I got my eBay Airport Extreme Basestation today and set it up.

    I wasn't surprised at the retardedly easy setup process. The only bumps I hit were of my own fault (not resetting the router thus trying to use previous settings, and not resetting my modem).

    Oh and the thing was a little dirty and started to "yellow" in some places. I used a Mr. Clean Magic Eraser and it's as bright white as day one.
     
  23. mobbarley

    mobbarley Active Member

    Joined:
    Mar 4, 2005
    Messages:
    9,256
    Likes Received:
    2
    Location:
    Sydney
    Make sure you have the latest firmware and it will be up 100% of the time.
    I use two in WDS and they are great :)

    Also if you need more range quickertek sells powered boosters with up to a couple watts of power.
     
  24. manchild

    manchild OT Supporter

    Joined:
    Mar 16, 2005
    Messages:
    11,507
    Likes Received:
    1
    Location:
    Chicago
    I've got a Linksys WRT54G, and then we got the range expander made by linksys to get to the places it wouldn't reach. Woot had the range expander for like $35, but they're usually closer to $70ish.
    The printer and HD support isn't built in, but you can enable file sharing and printing through the actual macs, and if you want they sell other bases that let you print and use external HDs.
     

Share This Page