suggestions for a motherboard?

Discussion in 'OT Technology' started by brodieman, May 1, 2007.

  1. brodieman

    brodieman OT Supporter

    Joined:
    Nov 27, 2004
    Messages:
    2,111
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    ME
    anyone have any suggestions for a good AM2 compatible motherboard? i've come into an AM2 processor through a friend but my old board is socket 754 so i need to get a new one. i'd prefer having two PCI-E x16 slots for in case i decide to go SLi later on, but i'm open to any suggestions
     
  2. Create

    Create :free at last:

    Joined:
    Jan 4, 2006
    Messages:
    8,043
    Likes Received:
    2
    Asus or Abit MB. SLI/Crossfire will die just like it did for voodoo2. I havn't really kept up on AMD since I decided to go with a P4 several specs back.
     
  3. deusexaethera

    deusexaethera OT Supporter

    Joined:
    Jan 27, 2005
    Messages:
    19,712
    Likes Received:
    0
  4. brodieman

    brodieman OT Supporter

    Joined:
    Nov 27, 2004
    Messages:
    2,111
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    ME
    hmm, nice board, but a little out of my price range and it's Socket L.

    is Asus what people would recommend? my current board is an asus and i've never had problems with it but i hear that their customer service isn't so hot...
     
  5. deusexaethera

    deusexaethera OT Supporter

    Joined:
    Jan 27, 2005
    Messages:
    19,712
    Likes Received:
    0
    Intel + Intel. AMD + Asus.
     
  6. brodieman

    brodieman OT Supporter

    Joined:
    Nov 27, 2004
    Messages:
    2,111
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    ME
    alright, so I'm looking at asus boards, how about SLi capability, should I be thinking about it or is it like create says and going to be a passing fancy?
     
  7. P07r0457

    P07r0457 New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 20, 2004
    Messages:
    28,491
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Southern Oregon
    except in the most extreme cases, SLI is worthless.
     
  8. deusexaethera

    deusexaethera OT Supporter

    Joined:
    Jan 27, 2005
    Messages:
    19,712
    Likes Received:
    0
    .

    SLI gets you twice as much processing power for the graphics effects that existed when your cards were manufactured. It does nothing to speed up graphics effects developed in the future. And besides, games won't lag until 100% of the available processing power is being consumed, so if a game doesn't lag with one card, two won't do anything at all.
     
  9. brodieman

    brodieman OT Supporter

    Joined:
    Nov 27, 2004
    Messages:
    2,111
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    ME
    alright, thanks very much, i will try to pick something out based on that and considering that a single PCI-E x16 slot is all that is necessary
     
  10. Create

    Create :free at last:

    Joined:
    Jan 4, 2006
    Messages:
    8,043
    Likes Received:
    2
    More on SLI: most SLI capable MB's run PCI-e x8 when in SLI mode, but run PCI-e x16 when run single.

    Unless you spend the money on a board that will run SLI at full x16 speed, it's a waste. A single 8800 is faster than dual 7xxx cards, but costs less than twice as much. That means it's cheaper to upgrade rather than run dual until you get to the fastest card, the 8800.

    It's a $50 premium on motherboard cost, then $200 + $200 for your pair of 8800 cards. $250 over a single card setup and games won't take advantage of it...yet.
     
  11. Create

    Create :free at last:

    Joined:
    Jan 4, 2006
    Messages:
    8,043
    Likes Received:
    2
    edit: disregard this post.

    For Pro's: If you somehow were to need solid graphics performance across more than two monitors. By solid, I mean your third monitor needs more than a 5200 PCI card.
     
    Last edited: May 1, 2007
  12. P07r0457

    P07r0457 New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 20, 2004
    Messages:
    28,491
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Southern Oregon
    SLI is not used for that. In fact, when in SLI, you lose the "heads" of the 2nd card.
     
  13. Create

    Create :free at last:

    Joined:
    Jan 4, 2006
    Messages:
    8,043
    Likes Received:
    2
    No shit. I'm trying to remember from the voodoo2 days.
     
  14. brodieman

    brodieman OT Supporter

    Joined:
    Nov 27, 2004
    Messages:
    2,111
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    ME
    alright, i've been looking at the asus boards and found a few that seem to suit what i'm looking for.

    1. http://www.newegg.com/Product/Product.aspx?Item=N82E16813131143

    2. http://www.newegg.com/Product/Product.aspx?Item=N82E16813131042

    3. http://www.newegg.com/Product/Product.aspx?Item=N82E16813131072

    4. http://www.newegg.com/Product/Product.aspx?Item=N82E16813131022

    at this point i'm leaning towards either the 1st or the 4th, any thoughts?

    edit: feel free to bash me if i'm overlooking something that's glaringly obvious, this is my first time doing a largish comp reconstruction so i admit my noobness right off. i'd rather get flamed on here beforehand than buy a part that's no good.
     
    Last edited: May 1, 2007
  15. Create

    Create :free at last:

    Joined:
    Jan 4, 2006
    Messages:
    8,043
    Likes Received:
    2
    Two boards listed are ATX and two are Micro ATX. Check your box: Is your board square (microATX) or rectangular (ATX).
     
  16. brodieman

    brodieman OT Supporter

    Joined:
    Nov 27, 2004
    Messages:
    2,111
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    ME
    sorry, was out for a while.

    my board is rectangular.
     
  17. deusexaethera

    deusexaethera OT Supporter

    Joined:
    Jan 27, 2005
    Messages:
    19,712
    Likes Received:
    0
    A better check would be how many slots it has. If it has four slots (or room for four) then it's Micro ATX, otherwise it's ATX.

    (some Micro ATX boards are not square.)
     
  18. Create

    Create :free at last:

    Joined:
    Jan 4, 2006
    Messages:
    8,043
    Likes Received:
    2
    See, this is why I love cpu-z screenies. With that we know exactly what the base hardware spec is.
     
  19. brodieman

    brodieman OT Supporter

    Joined:
    Nov 27, 2004
    Messages:
    2,111
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    ME
    my current board has 1 agp slot and 5 pci slots
     
  20. Doc Brown

    Doc Brown Don't make me make you my hobby

    Joined:
    Mar 31, 2006
    Messages:
    16,404
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Ohio
    SLI means higher frame rates, and higher frame rates are always good.

    (relative to extreme gamers)
     
  21. deusexaethera

    deusexaethera OT Supporter

    Joined:
    Jan 27, 2005
    Messages:
    19,712
    Likes Received:
    0
    Fixed.
     
  22. Doc Brown

    Doc Brown Don't make me make you my hobby

    Joined:
    Mar 31, 2006
    Messages:
    16,404
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Ohio
    My son is in computer sciences at RIT.

    Practically everyone he knows runs SLI.:mamoru:
     
  23. Create

    Create :free at last:

    Joined:
    Jan 4, 2006
    Messages:
    8,043
    Likes Received:
    2
    NEWS FLASH: comp sci majors run the latest hardware, despite price considerations
     
  24. Doc Brown

    Doc Brown Don't make me make you my hobby

    Joined:
    Mar 31, 2006
    Messages:
    16,404
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Ohio
    Well considering that I'm the one who put 2k into his last build, that sort of goes without saying...
     
  25. Create

    Create :free at last:

    Joined:
    Jan 4, 2006
    Messages:
    8,043
    Likes Received:
    2
    micro ATX won't have so many PCI slots.

    You need an ATX board.

    Then consider the chipsets and price. I'm not sure who knows about AMD chipsets.
     

Share This Page