A&P Suggestion for an used/new SLR 35mm

Discussion in 'Lifestyle' started by TenzoR, Apr 11, 2004.

1. TenzoR

TenzoR She is hot hot hot

Hello,

I'm just venturing to the world of photography. I've been taking pictures since I was 7 using a P/S canon camera. I accidently broked it a year ago and I was waiting till I have some money to buy a newer camera. I'm looking in to buying an AF (and preferably) MF SLR 35mm camera. I have a Nikon lense from my dad's old (but kinda broken Nikon F2 camera). Looking to spend around $200-400 on a good setup. A beginner lense will be fine since I'm still learning.

Any good suggestion?

2. eighteen_psi

eighteen_psi Active Member

I love my Canon A2E...they can be had in nice shape within your price range....same thing (with a couple very minor differences in behavior) as the international EOS5 model.

I have a 50mm f/1.8 II lens as my 'regular'....cheep & sharp. That plus a cheep zoom will cover you pretty well until you get more serious. For the old school, I have a Fujica STX-1. I still use it for some stuff but as I've been getting better with the A2E, its been sitting more and shooting less.

3. dragon1976

dragon1976 Guest

I learned on an old Minolta XD-7 - great starter camera.

I inherited my uncles Nikon FE2 - very happy with it!

I went out and bought my own Nikon N80. I used it for about a year and am very happy with it.

I just purchased a Nikon D70. I also have a Canon S45 point and shoot.

I have a 28-80 and 70-200 AF Lenses for the Nikons. I have a few manual focus lenses for the FE2 (50mm and 28mm fixed). I also have a 45mm and 70-210 lense for the XD-7.

Last edited by a moderator: Apr 15, 2004
  4. TenzoR

I was planning on getting the N75 but I'm not sure if it'll still work with the older nikkor mf lense?

Right now I'm looking at a Nikon 801/8008 or F90x/N90s
    with some sort of lense 28-55mm? nothing too big

5. dragon1976

dragon1976 Guest