sub/amp wiring help

Discussion in 'OT Technology' started by 7urb0, Nov 20, 2005.

  1. 7urb0

    7urb0 Member

    Joined:
    Dec 30, 2001
    Messages:
    194
    Likes Received:
    0
    im having a problem hooking these up.

    amp is mtx thunder 801d 800rms @ 2 ohm

    sub is kicker L7 12" 750rms @ dual 2 ohm ( = 1 ohm?)

    now, the amp said it has a 2 ohm minimum and the sub can only be hooked up as either 1 ohm or 4 ohm.

    so does that mean i can only hook it up to the amp as 4 ohm and get 400rms instead of the 750rms from 1 ohm.?
     
  2. JRock10

    JRock10 Active Member

    Joined:
    May 25, 2005
    Messages:
    7,751
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Nashville, TN FTW
    yeah, you could try to run the amp at one ohm. it may work it may not. either way, 400 watts will be fine on an L7, especially if you put it in a ported box.
     
  3. ScrapinSi

    ScrapinSi New Member

    Joined:
    Jul 4, 2005
    Messages:
    155
    Likes Received:
    0
    You can hook the amp up at 1ohm, but its gonna heat up the amp, and at really high volumes, it will clip the amp. You'd almost be better off to buy a 2nd sub, that way you can wire the 2 up at 2ohm...
     
  4. Mojo

    Mojo New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 13, 2005
    Messages:
    2,442
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Bay Area, CA
    i wouldn't wired it into 1ohm. i rather stick with the 4ohm load than risking your equipment.
     
  5. dbdraggin

    dbdraggin New Member

    Joined:
    Apr 5, 2002
    Messages:
    1,252
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    eastern pa
    are you running with a sealed or ported box for the L7? if its a sealed box then you shouldnt have a problem running the amp at a 1 ohm load, if its a ported box i wouldnt recommend it.
     
  6. 7urb0

    7urb0 Member

    Joined:
    Dec 30, 2001
    Messages:
    194
    Likes Received:
    0
    its a seal box. so you think the amp can handle the load?
     

Share This Page