Style noob needs help on college style

Discussion in 'Lifestyle' started by SolidRanger, Apr 17, 2009.

1. SolidRanger

SolidRanger New Member

Hey TSL, I've got a bit of a dilemma.

I'm just about to finish my 2nd semester of college and I think I scare my fellow classmates due to my appearance. I'm 6'5 and 200lbs white guy with a shaved head (due to balding :rolleyes:). My wardrobe consists almost completely of death metal band tshirts (black), jeans or camo cargo shorts, and either boots or van's slipons or authentics.

I went to high school in a small town with only 800 students in the whole high school, so everyone knew me and I had a ton of friends...although some of the more preppie students nicknamed me Scary Bob, even though I've always been a nice guy.

However now I'm a student at a university with 20,000 students and I barely know anybody. I think I only have 1 person I could call a friend here. I live off campus and I commute so I don't exactly have dormmates to know.

I think its time for a style change, to soften my image a bit to be a bit more approachable. I say so because a few days ago I had something to do after school that required me to sort of dress up. So I wore like a green polo, jeans, and my vans to school and people were really different to me. People said hi to me in the hallways, girls smiled at me, they didn't just stare straight ahead and ignore me like they usually do. I honestly think people think I'm like some sort of psycho who's going to pull a Viriginia Tech, so I think people ignore me for that reason.

So my question is: What should I wear? Where should I shop? People I know keep suggesting American Eagle and I notice that pretty much everyone at my school wears American Eagle but at the same time people tell me not to shop there saying the clothes are cheap, bro-ish, and way overdone. So what do you guys think?

If it helps I sort of dig the stuff Lacoste makes but I don't know anywhere that sells it around here.