Stupid XP Time issue

Discussion in 'OT Technology' started by hurleyint1386, May 25, 2007.

  1. hurleyint1386

    hurleyint1386 Someone has sand in their vagina

    Joined:
    Jan 6, 2005
    Messages:
    3,687
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Rochester, NY
    So I've got someone who's asking me about the time on their computer because it's always ~50 minutes fast. He's a realtor and depends on his Outlook reminders for his schedule, but since the time is always off, a lot of things get screwed up. He said that a few different machines in the office have been doing the same thing and it all started at the exact same time (hence ruling out CMOS battery issue). He said it was right after daylight savings. I tried googling the issue, and I noticed there is a patch for the 2007 daylights savings, however when I try to run it, it says it's already installed. Any ideas?
     
  2. DAN513

    DAN513 OT Supporter

    Joined:
    Mar 10, 2003
    Messages:
    10,088
    Likes Received:
    2
    Location:
    204
    find a program called tzedit.exe
    It's a MS tool that lets you edit all the time zone and dst settings.

    If you can't find it, pm me an email address and I can send it to you.
     
  3. hurleyint1386

    hurleyint1386 Someone has sand in their vagina

    Joined:
    Jan 6, 2005
    Messages:
    3,687
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Rochester, NY
    i downloaded it, and i cant seem to tell if that's what i need to do. the clock isnt a full hour off.
     
  4. 5Gen_Prelude

    5Gen_Prelude There might not be an "I" in the word "Team", but

    Joined:
    Mar 14, 2000
    Messages:
    14,519
    Likes Received:
    1
    Location:
    Vancouver, BC, CANADA
    The patch was installed as a regular update for XP SP2. Who are you syncing your time off of? Double Click on the Clock and look at the last tab.
     
  5. hurleyint1386

    hurleyint1386 Someone has sand in their vagina

    Joined:
    Jan 6, 2005
    Messages:
    3,687
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Rochester, NY
    it says the patch was for February 2007, and im about to go to his computer now, so i'll check
     
  6. Doc Brown

    Doc Brown Don't make me make you my hobby

    Joined:
    Mar 31, 2006
    Messages:
    16,404
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Ohio
    Start > Run > type services.msc > scroll down to the bottom and make sure Windows Time is set to automatic.
     
  7. hurleyint1386

    hurleyint1386 Someone has sand in their vagina

    Joined:
    Jan 6, 2005
    Messages:
    3,687
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Rochester, NY
    The Windows Time service is set to automatic and he's using the Eastern Standard Time zone
     
  8. negative zero

    negative zero New Member

    Joined:
    Oct 27, 2003
    Messages:
    6,328
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    the Watchtower
    Aren't there some free programs that will sync to the Atomic Clock? MIght try that and see if it fixes the issue.
     
  9. 5Gen_Prelude

    5Gen_Prelude There might not be an "I" in the word "Team", but

    Joined:
    Mar 14, 2000
    Messages:
    14,519
    Likes Received:
    1
    Location:
    Vancouver, BC, CANADA
    So when you choose to update Now on that tab, does it not correct the time? Or does it not connect?
     
  10. tyrionlannister

    tyrionlannister New Member

    Joined:
    Jun 13, 2006
    Messages:
    710
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    New York
    Check the last tab, labeled "Internet Tme" and see where you are getting your time from. If this is happening to a few of the office computers like you say, then they're probably all syncing off of a machne which has the time wrong.
     
  11. hurleyint1386

    hurleyint1386 Someone has sand in their vagina

    Joined:
    Jan 6, 2005
    Messages:
    3,687
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Rochester, NY
    There is no "Internet Time" tab.
     
  12. 5Gen_Prelude

    5Gen_Prelude There might not be an "I" in the word "Team", but

    Joined:
    Mar 14, 2000
    Messages:
    14,519
    Likes Received:
    1
    Location:
    Vancouver, BC, CANADA
    Then it's the Domain Controller that is controlling the time.

    At the command prompt, type in:

    net time
     
  13. JayC71

    JayC71 Guest

    If it's a domain computer, it's syncing with it's logon DC, which is in turn syncing with the PDC Emulator. If those times are screwed, you have larger problems.

    If it's not joined to a domain, here is how you find out what the Windows Time service is doing with the least effort.

    Start-Run, cmd.exe

    net time /querysntp <- will tell you what it's currently syncing with (time.windows.com,0x1 by default)
    net time /setsntp:tick.usno.navy.mil <- sets your sntp server to one of the the US Naval Obeservatory time servers

    For more info:
    http://tycho.usno.navy.mil/ntp.html
     

Share This Page