stupid webpage question

Discussion in 'OT Technology' started by Achance007, Jan 9, 2004.

  1. Achance007

    Achance007 Active Member

    Joined:
    Oct 12, 2000
    Messages:
    16,135
    Likes Received:
    5
    Location:
    New Castle, DE
    I just signed up for free webhosting from www.1and1.com and registered a domain name. Now my stupid question is how can I get the site just to show up as a directory. I just want to upload some files and pictures, etc.. and just have everything listed. I don't want to have them to keep typing out my address each time to see a new picture or file.
     
  2. ChosenGSR

    ChosenGSR Mama always said you'd be the chosen one

    Joined:
    Oct 24, 2001
    Messages:
    51,116
    Likes Received:
    243
    Location:
    HoCo, MD
    I believe thats a setting in IIS, you might have to contact your host.
     
  3. Leb_CRX

    Leb_CRX OT's resident terrorist

    Joined:
    Apr 22, 2001
    Messages:
    39,994
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Ottawa, Canada
    you log in @ admin.1and1.com and you can cerate a ftp account there
     
  4. Achance007

    Achance007 Active Member

    Joined:
    Oct 12, 2000
    Messages:
    16,135
    Likes Received:
    5
    Location:
    New Castle, DE
    do you use 1and1? I went to the control panel and I do see a ftp account tab under the web space tab, but it just appears all that is for is adding people access to upload files. I didn't see where else I should change the settings
     
  5. 5Gen_Prelude

    5Gen_Prelude There might not be an "I" in the word "Team", but

    Joined:
    Mar 14, 2000
    Messages:
    14,519
    Likes Received:
    1
    Location:
    Vancouver, BC, CANADA
    I think what he's saying is instead of creating an html directory listing, just use your ftp portion of your account for other people to download crap (assuming that's an option). To dynamically display a directory listing would require the hosting company to be running specific software and allowing you to turn on that function, or you would need to create a web page that would do the same thing.
     
  6. Leb_CRX

    Leb_CRX OT's resident terrorist

    Joined:
    Apr 22, 2001
    Messages:
    39,994
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Ottawa, Canada
    ditto, I didnt understand the question the first time around...

    ooops :hs:
     
  7. Jericho

    Jericho Active Member

    Joined:
    Oct 21, 2002
    Messages:
    34,140
    Likes Received:
    0
    make a new file called .htaccess
    put it in the directory you want to enable directory browsing and write the following in it:

    Options +Indexes
     
  8. Achance007

    Achance007 Active Member

    Joined:
    Oct 12, 2000
    Messages:
    16,135
    Likes Received:
    5
    Location:
    New Castle, DE
    Holy shit dude that worked!! :bigthumb: :bigthumb: :wiggle: :cool: :bj: :eek3d: :bowdown: :bowdown:
     

Share This Page