stupid vpn

Discussion in 'OT Technology' started by CruD, Feb 12, 2003.

  1. CruD

    CruD Bah, I'll just hack it

    Joined:
    Oct 25, 2001
    Messages:
    2,796
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Lakeway, TX
    I could access the office vpn fine yesterday. now its being gay. and nothing was changed! Yesterday when i connected to the VPN i could map the network server as a drive and access the office server as well as access my internet. But now... It lets me connect to the VPN , but once in connected, my internet dont work anymore and i cant connect to the office server ! wtf? any ideas? no configs were changed.. i dont think..
     
  2. 5Gen_Prelude

    5Gen_Prelude There might not be an "I" in the word "Team", but

    Joined:
    Mar 14, 2000
    Messages:
    14,519
    Likes Received:
    1
    Location:
    Vancouver, BC, CANADA
    It has to do with the authentication process - you are being allowed "dialup" priveledges but you're not logging into the network properly.
     
  3. CruD

    CruD Bah, I'll just hack it

    Joined:
    Oct 25, 2001
    Messages:
    2,796
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Lakeway, TX
    what would you suggest ?
     
  4. 5Gen_Prelude

    5Gen_Prelude There might not be an "I" in the word "Team", but

    Joined:
    Mar 14, 2000
    Messages:
    14,519
    Likes Received:
    1
    Location:
    Vancouver, BC, CANADA
    You haven't provided enough info on the server and client systems to give an answer.
     
  5. CruD

    CruD Bah, I'll just hack it

    Joined:
    Oct 25, 2001
    Messages:
    2,796
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Lakeway, TX
    server is a macintosh running OS9, and my computer is XP PRO.
    There is a router at the office that connects all the computers. My computer at work is XP HOME. They all connect to the server locally. You cant connect to the server without connecting to the router. I set the router up so that port 80 and some other required ports forwarded to my computer in the office. And my computer at the office is set up to receive remote connections. Once i connect to the VPN, i just connect to the server. But the thing is, when i connect to the VPN, thats all that happens. My internet drops, and i cant connect to the server.
     
  6. 5Gen_Prelude

    5Gen_Prelude There might not be an "I" in the word "Team", but

    Joined:
    Mar 14, 2000
    Messages:
    14,519
    Likes Received:
    1
    Location:
    Vancouver, BC, CANADA
    Okay, here's what I would try. Open up the properties of the VPN connection on your XP computer at home and find the Use Remote Gateway and turn it off.
     
  7. CruD

    CruD Bah, I'll just hack it

    Joined:
    Oct 25, 2001
    Messages:
    2,796
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Lakeway, TX
    genious. :)
     
  8. CruD

    CruD Bah, I'll just hack it

    Joined:
    Oct 25, 2001
    Messages:
    2,796
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Lakeway, TX
    Why does my internet seem 3210480329840932 x faster?
     
  9. 5Gen_Prelude

    5Gen_Prelude There might not be an "I" in the word "Team", but

    Joined:
    Mar 14, 2000
    Messages:
    14,519
    Likes Received:
    1
    Location:
    Vancouver, BC, CANADA
    Because you are not routing everything through your internet connection, into your work computer, out to your work router and out into the world with the added bonus of being in a VPN tunnel. In other words, less overhead.
     
  10. CruD

    CruD Bah, I'll just hack it

    Joined:
    Oct 25, 2001
    Messages:
    2,796
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Lakeway, TX
    no ,it seems faster when i am connected to the VPN
     
  11. 5Gen_Prelude

    5Gen_Prelude There might not be an "I" in the word "Team", but

    Joined:
    Mar 14, 2000
    Messages:
    14,519
    Likes Received:
    1
    Location:
    Vancouver, BC, CANADA
    Beats me - it shouldn't. All internet traffic should be going to your ISP now.
     

Share This Page