GUN stupid state laws

Discussion in 'On Topic' started by silversilvia, Jul 1, 2006.

  1. silversilvia

    silversilvia OT Supporter

    Joined:
    Sep 28, 2003
    Messages:
    1,066
    Likes Received:
    0
    was driving back from out of town today and saw a gun shop on the way. saw a nice CZ52 which looked pretty new except the grips. cycled smooth and eveything, finish was nice prehaps it was refinished/parkerized. the price was $169.99.


    IF missouri didn't require a Permit To Aquire and to wait 10 days in my county for sheriffs approval i woulda totally bought it. too much work to wait that long and drive 2 hours to STL again.

    can u buy guns on saturday? i know they have to call in and do a back ground check and stuff.

    anyways just making conversation.
     
  2. kellyclan

    kellyclan She only loves you when she's drunk.

    Joined:
    May 16, 2001
    Messages:
    18,944
    Likes Received:
    0
    In CT, you have to be a CT resident and have a CT carry permit to buy a handgun from a dealer, won't even let you look at a handgun unless you have one. You can buy Mon-Sat. You show your permit, fill out the I'm-not-a-douchebag paper and a short transfer form, the dealer calls or nets to the state firearms unit, instant background check, then you walk out with gun.

    I don't recall if the state firearms unit has Sun hours, nor do I recall exactly what the daily hours are, something like 8am-8pm.
     
  3. Soybomb

    Soybomb New Member

    Joined:
    Aug 30, 2003
    Messages:
    9,041
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Illinois
    Illinois makes us wait 3 days to buy a handgun, but we have missouri blown out of the water on the permit to buy thing.
     
  4. TL1000RSquid

    TL1000RSquid ΜΟΛΩΝ ΛΑΒΕ

    Joined:
    Jun 9, 2004
    Messages:
    14,257
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    NY
    NY is pretty much the same way have to have a NY permit or they wont even let you touch it. Then once you pay for it you got to goto Police HQ and have that gun added onto your permit ($10 fee) :greddy:
     
  5. 70Machwon

    70Machwon New Member

    Joined:
    Aug 10, 2004
    Messages:
    10,970
    Likes Received:
    2
    Location:
    Bay area
    You wanna talk about stupid state laws. Go ahead and bitch, but at least it isnt as bad as CA.
     
  6. jtl090179

    jtl090179 Oh I get it, yeah. He's the girl, then you're the OT Supporter

    Joined:
    Mar 10, 2003
    Messages:
    18,878
    Likes Received:
    5
    in wi, you pay for it and background check, wait three days, go pick it up and youre done. all the registration stuff is all taken care of with the background check.

    for rifles and shotguns you pay, fill out some paperwork, then leave. can be done in less than 15 minutes
     
  7. mooredodge

    mooredodge 3,2,1 I'm the bomb...and I'm ready to go off in yo

    Joined:
    Oct 10, 2004
    Messages:
    13,605
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    The Park
    Fuck, what county are you in? I'm in Cape county, and it's like a 10 minute wait on the permit, and you're good to go.
     
  8. daviid

    daviid cell tower tech

    Joined:
    Nov 7, 2003
    Messages:
    1,628
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Concord, NC
    you can also get a Pistol Eligibilty Certificate, which allows you to buy and bring home, and i believe go to the range, but you cannot carry on your persons. its stupid because to get it, its the exact same application and process as a License to Carry Pistols & Revolvers
     
  9. phoenixTX

    phoenixTX New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 10, 2004
    Messages:
    3,613
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Dallas and OKC
    In Texas you have to ... oh wait, Texas is cool as shit about guns. Fill out the transfer form, they call, you pay, 10 minutes total transaction time.

    If you have a valid CHL they don't even call. The CHL license gets entered on the form as an additional form of ID and you are all set.
     
  10. silversilvia

    silversilvia OT Supporter

    Joined:
    Sep 28, 2003
    Messages:
    1,066
    Likes Received:
    0
    Boone. i know some county's u have to go to the gun store. pick out a gun, bring a little paper to the sheriffs (with serial number and model and crap), get approved, then buy a gun.

    some just go pick em up the same day, but boone wants u to wait 10 days >:|

    no impulse buying ever.
     
  11. Big Daddy

    Big Daddy New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 12, 2003
    Messages:
    3,451
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Orlando, FL
    FL is awesome, you have a 3 day wait if you dont already own a handgun.. If you have the receipt you are exept.. and you dnot have to register them either.. If you buy it from a private individual you just give him the cash and he gives you the gun..:)
     
  12. striker754

    striker754 Chillin

    Joined:
    Dec 13, 2001
    Messages:
    16,198
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Around
    CO > all states
     
  13. Gimik

    Gimik New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 16, 2003
    Messages:
    36,559
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Feenicks, Az
    Even Denver?
     
  14. striker754

    striker754 Chillin

    Joined:
    Dec 13, 2001
    Messages:
    16,198
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Around
    Denver has some toned down version of the assault weapons ban. 20 rounds or somethin, etc etc Supreme Court was deadlocked on it thouhg so lower court ruling stood

    Doesnt bother me though. I was talking about CO, not Denver.

    That owns all. And no action either if you justified in stopping a felony with force.
     
    Last edited: Jul 5, 2006
  15. mooredodge

    mooredodge 3,2,1 I'm the bomb...and I'm ready to go off in yo

    Joined:
    Oct 10, 2004
    Messages:
    13,605
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    The Park
    Wow, that sucks. :sadwavey:
     

Share This Page