Stupid question about my puter

Discussion in 'OT Technology' started by GMama, Sep 11, 2006.

  1. GMama

    GMama Guest

    Ok, I feel really stupid, but I'm having computer problems. I have a Dell with Windows XP. The last couple days I haven't been able to access most things on my favorites list. Even if I type in the addy it won't work. I can't access my mail on yahoo and I can't access Yahoo IM or AOL IM. I've also noticed that websites that warn you that you're about to enter an secure site or whatever, it won't let me access that either. WTF is wrong?
     
  2. Doc Brown

    Doc Brown Don't make me make you my hobby

    Joined:
    Mar 31, 2006
    Messages:
    16,404
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Ohio
    Are you running any antivirus or antispyware?
     
  3. Doc Brown

    Doc Brown Don't make me make you my hobby

    Joined:
    Mar 31, 2006
    Messages:
    16,404
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Ohio
    How about windows updates. Are they set to automatic?
     
  4. GMama

    GMama Guest

    Yes I am.
     
  5. GMama

    GMama Guest

    I don't think so. Should it be?
     
  6. Doc Brown

    Doc Brown Don't make me make you my hobby

    Joined:
    Mar 31, 2006
    Messages:
    16,404
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Ohio
    Well it all depends. When was the last time you ran updates?
     
  7. Doc Brown

    Doc Brown Don't make me make you my hobby

    Joined:
    Mar 31, 2006
    Messages:
    16,404
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Ohio
    Which of the two are you running?

    Do you run scans?
     
  8. Doc Brown

    Doc Brown Don't make me make you my hobby

    Joined:
    Mar 31, 2006
    Messages:
    16,404
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Ohio
    I gotta fly.

    If you can find the time to fill in the missing details, I'm sure somebody can help you out.
     
  9. GMama

    GMama Guest

    I can't remember the last time i ran updates
     
  10. GMama

    GMama Guest

    the other nite my computer was fine, and i was trying to access a game on a website. It wouldn't let me access it and I think I may have messed up some settings trying to access it
     
  11. Coottie

    Coottie BOOMER......SOONER OT Supporter

    Joined:
    Jun 6, 2006
    Messages:
    32,407
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    OKC
    What is your security setting for IE? You may have it set to a very high setting and that's preventing you from seeing certain sites. Go to Tools | Internet Options then click on the Security setting and look in the bottom 1/2 of the window. Your current security setting should be displayed.
     
  12. Zak8022

    Zak8022 New Member

    Joined:
    Apr 16, 2004
    Messages:
    4,012
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Maryland
    are you getting ANY internet connectivity?
     
  13. Schproda

    Schproda New Member

    Joined:
    Jul 9, 2006
    Messages:
    442
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Memphis, TN
    Install SP2, or reinstall it.
     

Share This Page