stupid Linux noob question...

Discussion in 'OT Technology' started by asTTro boy, Jan 8, 2004.

  1. asTTro boy

    asTTro boy Guest

    ... ok, I just got someone's computer and it has RedHat 8 installed. I'm need to learn more about it, but for right now all I want to do is work the email in it. I went into an account and used the
    [[email protected] home]$ mail
    command to send my self something -

    it came to me as [email protected] - well at least to my other account on the same intranet. I tried to send one externally and I never received it.

    My question - how do I configure this to send mail outside of my intranet, and how do I set it up to receive mail - when I replied to the above address, I, obviously, got an error.

    This is red hat 8.0 - I know you'll need a lot more information to help answer this, but I was hoping somone could point me in a clear direction - google is just confusing me more :ugh:

    TIA
     
  2. col_panic

    col_panic calm like a bomb Moderator

    Joined:
    Sep 19, 2003
    Messages:
    188,160
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    winter haven, fl
    that is sendmail. use kmail or another graphical mail client and the configuration will be like other clients you are familiar with. if you really want to use sendmail use qmail instead

    http://www.flounder.net/qmail/qmail-howto.html
     
  3. asTTro boy

    asTTro boy Guest

    :bigthumb: nice - some direction! you rock!
     
  4. col_panic

    col_panic calm like a bomb Moderator

    Joined:
    Sep 19, 2003
    Messages:
    188,160
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    winter haven, fl
  5. Joe_Cool

    Joe_Cool Never trust a woman or a government. Moderator

    Joined:
    Jun 30, 2003
    Messages:
    299,296
    Likes Received:
    555
    just out of curiosity, why qmail instead of sendmail? is it better, or just simpler?
     
  6. col_panic

    col_panic calm like a bomb Moderator

    Joined:
    Sep 19, 2003
    Messages:
    188,160
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    winter haven, fl
    qmail does not have to be run as root and supposedly it is faster under heavy load

    edit: now that i am home and have access to my books i can amplify on that "run as root" part. USAH v.2 (edit: v.3) (nemeth, et. al) states:

     
    Last edited: Jan 10, 2004

Share This Page