SRS Stuck between the one i love and the job i need

Discussion in 'On Topic' started by Brigante, May 10, 2006.

1. Brigante

Brigante i'm a lurker without an avatar, deal with it

a little over a month ago i was promoted and transferred to a differnet office 80 miles away from my girlfriend. first off, i love girlfriend to death and i have every intention of making her my wife. but the promotion is also very important as it's something i've been training to do for over 3 years and i just couldn't deny it. i accepted thinking 80 miles isn't bad and we could appropriately adjust, which i still don't think it's a terribly long distance at all. but she's having a difficult time adjusting.

we used to live 10 minutes from each other and see each other very often. i understand we were spoiled with time together before but i never anticipated she would take it so hard. she was supportive when i broke the news to her. when i moved she was very emotional. then ever since it's been up and down. one week she'll be fine with everything, then the following week she'd cry every night.

my problem is i don't know how much more she can take. she might decide that she can't take it anymore. and i just can't give up this job so easily. i consider finding another job closer but having trained for this position for so long and finally getting it means a lot to me. i've worked very hard. on the other hand, my gf means the world to me and i don't want to lose her one bit but everytime we talk and she's in tears, it just feels like i might. :wtc: any advice is appreciated. thanks.

2. i94tex

i94tex New Member

If you both want the same thing (marriage), the two of you will find a way to make it work. Life is full of change and challenge but if you both truely want to be together, you will adapt and find away to make it happen. Ultimately, someone will have to compromise (but hey, it is good practice for marriage ;) ).