A&P Stroboframe vs TTL Flash cord

Discussion in 'Lifestyle' started by coughlin's law, Jul 28, 2009.

  1. So I've had the chance to play with a TTL Flash Cord, and it seems to give the photographer more freedom to position/move the flash, what would be a choice?
     
  2. Derrict

    Derrict No, I am not Amish OT Supporter

    Joined:
    Nov 19, 2003
    Messages:
    9,484
    Likes Received:
    1
    Location:
    Amish Country, PA
    Yeah, if you're willing to hold it for long periods.
     
  3. Wheezer

    Wheezer OT Supporter

    Joined:
    Jul 1, 2002
    Messages:
    1,629
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Houston
    I'm confused by your question. You'll need a flash cord if you're using a flash bracket (Stroboframe).
     
  4. hash browns

    hash browns lolcathlon champion OT Supporter

    Joined:
    Aug 20, 2004
    Messages:
    95,390
    Likes Received:
    85
    Location:
    Manhattan Beach, CA
    lol wut ? don't you use a ttl flash cord to make a stroboframe work
     
  5. This:

    [​IMG]

    Vs.

    That

    [​IMG]
     
  6. Derrict

    Derrict No, I am not Amish OT Supporter

    Joined:
    Nov 19, 2003
    Messages:
    9,484
    Likes Received:
    1
    Location:
    Amish Country, PA
    You still need the cord to connect the body to the flash that is positioned on the arm.

    Or are you talking about using just the cord and holding the flash in the air versus the cord + bracket?
     
  7. TheManLouisianaFace

    TheManLouisianaFace and decide!

    Joined:
    Sep 22, 2004
    Messages:
    32,995
    Likes Received:
    0


    .
     
  8. Jcolman

    Jcolman OT Supporter

    Joined:
    Aug 19, 2002
    Messages:
    43,118
    Likes Received:
    86
    Location:
    east coast
    I've got both and use neither. Sorry, I'm no help.
     
  9. FusionZ06

    FusionZ06 /\__/\__/\__0>

    Joined:
    Apr 10, 2004
    Messages:
    86,918
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Sunshine State
    Cord hurts my arm after a while lol
     
  10. cgper

    cgper OT Supporter

    Joined:
    Jan 20, 2006
    Messages:
    982
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    koleatown
    if you want to use a bracket, you need a ttl cord.
    if you want to use cord, i guess you can use it on its own. but that gets tiring fast.

    so yea get both or get neither. but i think brackets are unnecessary really. unless you're doing a LOT portrait orientation with flash. i had both and got rid of both.
     
  11. Derrict

    Derrict No, I am not Amish OT Supporter

    Joined:
    Nov 19, 2003
    Messages:
    9,484
    Likes Received:
    1
    Location:
    Amish Country, PA
    I got the Gary Fong Lightsphere and I think it'll be good enough to get rid of my Custom Brackets QRS35
     
  12. oliver

    oliver New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 21, 2004
    Messages:
    22,846
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    New York City
    I love my Gary Fong..

    Great spread of light and its so soft too :bowdown:
     
  13. Derrict

    Derrict No, I am not Amish OT Supporter

    Joined:
    Nov 19, 2003
    Messages:
    9,484
    Likes Received:
    1
    Location:
    Amish Country, PA
    yeah, I used it for the first time this past weekend and like the results. Not bad for ~ $40

    [​IMG]

    [​IMG]
     
  14. TheManLouisianaFace

    TheManLouisianaFace and decide!

    Joined:
    Sep 22, 2004
    Messages:
    32,995
    Likes Received:
    0


    How did you orient it for these shots? Straight up? 45 degree?
     
  15. Derrict

    Derrict No, I am not Amish OT Supporter

    Joined:
    Nov 19, 2003
    Messages:
    9,484
    Likes Received:
    1
    Location:
    Amish Country, PA
    Straight up. (clear w/ inverted dome)
     
  16. alexromo

    alexromo New Member

    Joined:
    Jul 10, 2005
    Messages:
    4,571
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Wahiawa
    i have a ttl cord with this lil bugger:

    [​IMG]

    not too bulky and gets the job done
     
  17. derekOT

    derekOT New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 9, 2009
    Messages:
    1,086
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Calgary, AB
    do u find that it flexes alot?

    that is my biggest concern with buying that bracket

    Ebay has one that looks almost exactly the same for about $25 + ettl cord on dealextreme for about $20
     
  18. Jonny Chimpo

    Jonny Chimpo OT Supporter

    Joined:
    Dec 20, 2003
    Messages:
    64,733
    Likes Received:
    368
    Location:
    The sweaty asshole of the universe
    In for your explanation of how you'll be using the Stroboframe without the cord. :bowdown:
     
  19. AmosBanks

    AmosBanks New Member

    Joined:
    Aug 19, 2004
    Messages:
    923
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Chicago, IL
    How about setting up commander mode to use the bracket without the cord?
     
  20. alexromo

    alexromo New Member

    Joined:
    Jul 10, 2005
    Messages:
    4,571
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Wahiawa
    i dont think it flexes too much. i can tolerate it
     
  21. PackingMyBags

    PackingMyBags New Member

    Joined:
    May 28, 2009
    Messages:
    442
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    NorCal
    BBC...end of story.
     

Share This Page